Do you know Cartagena, this sweet wine from Languedoc? In Corbières-Minervois, at the end of the harvest, we get together with family or friends to make it in a warm atmosphere. It will then be consumed, always in moderation of course, on numerous occasions.

The recipe of a Corbières family

Each family has its secret recipe, which makes the Cartagens often different. Here is the one delivered to us by a family of Corbières winegrowers.

“It all begins at the end of the harvest, when the grapes are at optimum maturity. Here, the grape varieties used are muscat petit grains and muscat d'Alexandrie. We always plant a few vines of good grape varieties in the middle of the vines. It can be made with other grape varieties such as Grenache. When the wild boars leave a few clusters, we start making Cartagena! "

“The recipe is very simple: we press the grapes in the old press or with (clean) feet, we extract the grape juice or must. You need 5 liters of must for one liter of 90 ° alcohol, also called 3/6. Fermentation is thus stopped and it only remains to wait a few years for it to be less alcoholic. Nothing goes to waste, the chickens end up having a great feast! "

The Marie-Jeanne are stored outside, in the sun, with a cork stopper simply placed on the neck. We wait at least a year before bottling the precious nectar. 

“It is the drink of friends, of family, which is shared. My cute sin is to dip a crunchy Saint Paul de Fenouillet in it and eat it ”

Cartagène is best enjoyed with chocolate, on foie gras, chestnuts or cheese.

Where to find Cartagena?

Céline

by Céline

Reading time 2 min

Connaissez-vous la Cartagène ou Carthagène, ce vin doux du Languedoc ? En Corbières-Minervois, à la fin des vendanges, on se réunit en famille ou entre amis pour la fabriquer dans une ambiance chaleureuse. Elle sera consommée ensuite, toujours avec modération bien sûr, à de nombreuses occasions.

La recette d’une famille des Corbières

Chaque famille a sa recette secrète, ce qui fait que les Cartagènes sont souvent différentes. Voici celle que nous a livré une famille de vignerons des Corbières. Tout débute à la fin des vendanges, lorsque le raisin est à maturité optimale. Chez eux, les cépages utilisés sont du muscat petit grains et du muscat d’Alexandrie. Ils plantent toujours quelques ceps de bon cépages au milieu des vignes. On peut le faire avec d’autres cépages comme le grenache. Quand les sangliers laissent quelques grappes, il se lancent dans la confection de la Cartagène !

La recette est très simple : on presse le raisin au vieux pressoir ou avec les pieds (protes), on extrait le jus de raisin ou moût. Il faut 5litres de moût pour un litre d’alcool à 90°, appelé aussi le 3/6. La fermentation est ainsi arrêtée et il ne reste plus qu’à attendre quelques années pour qu’elle soit moins alcoolisée. Rien ne se perd, les poules finissent par un grand festin !

Les Marie-Jeanne sont entreposées à l’extérieur, au soleil, avec un bouchon en liège simplement posé sur le goulot. On attend un an au moins avant d’embouteiller le précieux nectar. 

« C’est la boisson des amis, de la famille, qui se partage. Mon pêcher mignon, c’est de tremper un croquant de Saint Paul de Fenouillet et de le manger »

La Cartagène se déguste idéalement avec du chocolat, sur du foie gras, des châtaignes ou du fromage.

Où trouver de la Cartagène ?

Avril

par Avril

Lecture 2 min