Lagrasse is unavoidable during a stay in Corbières. Ranked among the "Most Beautiful Villages of France", its cobbled streets lead from the  medieval halls towards the banks of the Orbieu, at the foot of its famous abbey. Young and old will find their happiness here, between discovering monuments, swimming in the river, relaxation at the coffee terrace or restaurant, shopping in shops et artisan workshops, shopping at market saturday morning, walks or bike rides...

Lagrasse, medieval gem

The road which leads to Lagrasse from Lézignan-Corbières offers changing landscapes. Little by little, the vines give way to the first reliefs of the Corbières. We go up the course of the Orbieu by following the road which climbs on a hill. At the bend of a bend, Lagrasse reveals, medieval gem nestled in the hollow of the valley where the river crossed by a stone bridge connecting it to its majestic abbey.

Vue Lagrasse village rivière Abbaye Pont Vieux

In Lagrasse, we take our time

Lagrasse is discovered walk. medieval alleys lend themselves to wandering and we go from surprise to surprise. Theabbey and the Medieval city but also 15 buildings are protected under Historical monuments. A signposted route allows the visitor to discover the riches of the village. Look for the signs indicating the way to follow.

Convenient !

  • Mandatory parking in one of the P1, P2 or P3 car parks at the entrance to Lagrasse.
  • Parking is paying from 10 a.m. to 00 p.m. : 0.50 € per hour or 3 € per day.
  • The P1 and P2 car parks have a charging station for electric car.
  • To come to Lagrasse by public transport, go to the site MESS and consult the information on the line 406.

The ideal way to discover Lagrasse is to call on Carlos, guide and lecturer but also inhabitant of the village!

For photo lovers, the setting is ideal! Since 1986, Lagrasse has also been ranked among the "Most beautiful villages in France". The numbers restaurants and cafes are also an invitation to enjoy the place serenely ...

Cafés and restaurants in Lagrasse

Those who are simply a little hungry will also find their happiness, for example at Coupa Talen ("Talen" means “hunger” in Occitan).

Saturday, it's market in the halls

Lagrasse is a lively and welcoming village. Under the halls from the XNUMXth century, an authentic Saturday morning market. The opportunity to shop for local products in a lively local atmosphere where the accent of the country resonates.

Local produce shops and wine merchants also make it possible to delight gourmets. Visit for example Cyril Codina in his famous vinegar factory. It's hard not to fall for one of his tasty creations!

Arts and crafts in Lagrasse

Lagrasse is also famous for its shops et artisan workshops of art. The medieval city of Lagrasse has been listed since 2004 "Cities and Crafts". Ceramics, leather goods, violin making, jewelry, sewing, stained glass… There is something for everyone! Ideal to have fun and bring back some remembrances that can be completed with local products to find in the shops of the village.

Bathing at the foot of the abbey

Your steps will lead you gently towards the banks of the Orbieu river. Summer a bathing area is located opposite the abbey. Perfect to refresh itself before going to visit it!


Swimming at the foot of the abbey

The Saint Jean lake

Visit of the Abbey of Lagrasse

Impossible to leave without having visited Lagrasse Abbey. It offers an exceptional set of buildings from the XIIth to the XVIIIth century, evoking the places and moments of monastic life: abbey palace, dormitories, bakery, cloister ... It is now divided into two parts: a public part belonging to the department of Aude and a private party, where a community of canons lives. The two sets can be visited separately.

Abbaye Lagrasse partie publique
Lagrasse Abbey

Good to know !

The abbey (public part) also houses The House of Banquet and Generations, a cultural center dedicated to books and thought. Meet at the bookshop-bistro Le nom de l'homme to learn more about yourself and discuss things in a most pleasant setting.

La Maison du Banquet et des Générations Lagrasse
The bookstore-bistro, the name of man - house of banquets and generations

The Heritage House

Another must-see in Lagrasse, The Heritage Housepresents an exhibition devoted to the architectural, ethnographic and artistic heritage of Lagrassien. Former presbytery with painted coffered ceilingsfrom the XIIIth to the early XVIth century and an exhibition “Forgotten Images of the Middle Ages”. It also houses the Lagrasse tourist information office.

Maison du Patrimoine Lagrasse

And still lots of activities!

The surroundings are also conducive to hiking or cycling. In short, all the ingredients are there for a great stay!

Randonnée Lagrasse Roc de la Cagalière
Walks and hikes in Lagrasse

Lagrasse est incontournable lors d’un séjour en Corbières. Classé parmi les « Plus Beaux Villages de France », ses ruelles pavées conduisent depuis les halles médiévales vers les rives de l’Orbieu, au pied de sa célèbre abbaye. Petits et grands trouveront ici leur bonheur, entre découverte des monuments, baignade dans la rivière, détente à la terrasse d’un café ou d’un restaurant, shopping dans les boutiques et ateliers d’artisans, emplettes au marché du samedi matin, balades à pied ou à vélo

Lagrasse, joyau médiéval

La route qui conduit à Lagrasse depuis Lézignan-Corbières offre des paysages changeants. La vigne laisse peu à peu place aux premiers reliefs des Corbières. On remonte le cours de l’Orbieu en suivant la route qui grimpe sur une colline. Au détour d’un virage, Lagrasse se révèle, joyau médiéval niché au creux de la vallée où s’écoule la rivière franchie par un pont de pierre le reliant à sa majestueuse abbaye.

Vue Lagrasse village rivière Abbaye Pont Vieux

A Lagrasse, on prend son temps

Lagrasse se découvre à pied. Les ruelles médiévales se prêtent à la déambulation et l’on va de surprise en surprise. L’abbaye et la Cité Médiévale mais aussi 15 bâtiments sont protégés au titre des Monuments Historiques. Un parcours fléché permet au visiteur de découvrir les richesses du village. Repérez les panneaux indiquant le chemin à suivre.

Pratique !

  • Stationnement obligatoire dans l’un des parkings P1, P2 ou P3 à l’entrée de Lagrasse.
  • Le parking est payant de 10h00 à 18h00 : 0.50 € l’heure ou 3€ la journée.
  • Les parkings P1 et P2 disposent d’une borne de recharge pour voiture électrique.
  • Pour venir à Lagrasse en transport en communs, rdv sur le site LIO et consulter les informations sur la ligne 406.

L’idéal pour découvrir Lagrasse est de faire appel à Carlos de « Entre les Vignes avec Carlos ». Carlos est guide conférencier mais aussi habitant du village !

Pour les amateurs de photos, le cadre est idéal ! Depuis 1986, Lagrasse est aussi classé parmi les « Plus beaux villages de France ». Les nombreux restaurants et cafés sont aussi une invitation à profiter sereinement des lieux…

Les Cafés et restaurants à Lagrasse

Ceux qui ont simplement un peu petit creux trouveront aussi leur bonheur, par exemple au Coupa Talen (« talen » signifie « faim » en occitan).

Le samedi, c’est marché sous les halles

Lagrasse est un village vivant et chaleureux. Sous les halles du IVème siècle se tient un authentique marché le samedi matin. L’occasion de faire ses emplettes de produits locaux dans une ambiance locale animée où résonne l’accent du pays.

Les boutiques de produits du terroir et les cavistes permettent également de faire le bonheur des gourmands. Rendez par exemple visite à Cyril Codina dans sa célèbre vinaigrerie. Difficile de ne pas craquer pour l’une de ses savoureuses créations !

L’artisanat d’art à Lagrasse

Lagrasse est aussi célèbre pour ses boutiques et ateliers d’artisans d’art. La cité médiévale de Lagrasse est classée depuis 2004 « Villes et Métiers d’art ». Céramique, maroquinerie, lutherie, bijoux, couture, vitrail… Il y en a pour tous les goûts ! Idéal pour se faire plaisir et ramener quelques souvenirs que l’on peut compléter avec des produits locaux à dénicher dans les boutiques du village.

Baignade au pied de l’abbaye

Vos pas vous mèneront doucement vers les rives de la rivière l’Orbieu. L’été, un espace de baignade est aménagé face à l’abbaye. Parfait pour se rafraichir avant d’aller la visiter !


Baignade au pied de l’abbaye

Le plan d’eau Saint Jean

Visite de l’Abbaye de Lagrasse

Impossible de repartir sans avoir visité l’Abbaye de Lagrasse. Elle propose un ensemble exceptionnel de bâtiments du XIIe au XVIIIe, évoquant les lieux et les moments de la vie monastique : palais abbatial, dortoirs, boulangerie, cloître… Elle est aujourd’hui divisée en deux parties : une partie publique appartenant au département de l’Aude et une partie privée, où vit une communauté de chanoines. Les deux ensembles se visitent distinctement.

Abbaye Lagrasse partie publique
L’Abbaye de Lagrasse

Bon à savoir !

L’abbaye (partie publique) abrite aussi La Maison du banquet et des Générations, un centre culturel dédié aux livres et à la pensée. Rendez-vous à la librairie-bistrot Le nom de l’homme pour se cultiver et échanger dans un cadre des plus agréables.

La Maison du Banquet et des Générations Lagrasse
La librairie-bistrot le nom de l’homme – maison du banquet et des générations

La Maison du Patrimoine

Autre incontournable de Lagrasse, La Maison du Patrimoine présente une exposition consacrée au patrimoine architectural, ethnographique et artistique Lagrassien. Ancien presbytère avec des plafonds à caissons peints du XIII ème au début XVI ème siècle et une exposition « Images oubliées du moyen âge ». Elle abrite également le Bureau d’information touristique de Lagrasse.

Maison du Patrimoine Lagrasse

Et encore plein d’activités !

Les environs sont aussi propices à la randonnée à pied ou à vélo. Bref, tous les ingrédients sont réunis pour passer un superbe séjour !

Randonnée Lagrasse Roc de la Cagalière
Les balades et randonnées à Lagrasse