Visit Lagrasse Abbey is a must during a stay in Corbières. This medieval gem captivates the eye long before arriving in the village. After the visit, you can stroll through the cobbled streets, enjoy the terraces of restaurants, to visit artisan shops or you refresh in the waters clear from the river.

Convenient !

To access the heart of the village and then to the abbey, you will have to leave your vehicle in one of the (paid) car parks located at the entrance. The discovery will be made on foot by a nice walk. The abbey is on the other side of the Orbieu. It is accessed by crossing the Old Bridge or a footbridge located upstream.

The visit of the Abbey of Lagrasse

Lagrasse Abbey is one of the major sites of the Cathar Country. It is an exceptional set of buildings from the XIIth to the XVIIIth century evoking the moments of monastic life. Today it is divided into two parts: a public part belonging to the department of Aude and a private party, where a community of canons lives. The two sets can be visited separately.

The visit of the public part of the Abbey of Lagrasse

The visit of the public part allows you to discover the courtyard of the Abbey Palace, the cellar, the bakery, the monks' dormitory, the lower and upper chapels, the sacristy, the north transept of the church, a room dedicated to the Master of Cabestany and the ceremonial hall, in the heart of the abbot's private apartments.

Prepare your visit by downloading the flyer site on the Lagrasse Abbey.

For an accompanied visit, contact a tour guides.

You can also download the app Cathar Country, The Guide which offers a commented walk to accompany you during the discovery of the Abbey of Lagrasse. For the children and, download the application Castrum, the game so that they can visit the abbey while having fun!

The visit of the private part of the Abbey of Lagrasse

It is also possible to visit the private partcalled “Abbaye Canoniale Sainte-Marie”, administered since XNUMX by a community of Canons. You can admire the abbey church, the cloister, the conventual buildings of the XVIIIth century, the south transept and the garden. Warning, currently the garden, the tower and the transept are closed for works. In summer, visitors can attend an afternoon (every day except Thursday) at a guided tour by a canon. Themass and serviceswhose schedules are available here are sung in Gregorian according to the Roman rite.

The House of banquets and generations

The abbey, on the public side, also houses The House of Banquet and Generations, a cultural center dedicated to Books and thought including a library. Events are organized regularly. Watch them calendar !

The Heritage House

Another must-see in Lagrasse, The Heritage Housetakes place in a former presbytery with painted coffered ceilings from the XIIIth to the beginning of the XVIth century and a exhibition "Forgotten Images of the Middle Ages". It also houses the Lagrasse tourist information office.


Visit Lagrasse, one of the "Most beautiful villages in France"

The visit of Lagrasse, one of the most beautiful villages in France, offers the possibility to spend a very pleasant day and even more! Restaurants, local and artisan shops, Saturday morning market, swimming in the river, hiking or cycling… There is something for every taste !

Visiter L’abbaye de Lagrasse est incontournable lors d’un séjour en Corbières. Ce joyau médiéval captive le regard bien avant l’arrivée au village. Après la visite, vous pourrez flâner dans les ruelles pavées, profiter des terrasses des restaurants, visiter les boutiques d’artisans ou vous rafraîchir dans les eaux claires de la rivière.

Pratique !

Pour accéder au cœur du village et puis à l’abbaye, il faudra laisser votre véhicule dans l’un des parkings (payants) situés à l’entrée. La découverte se fera à pied par une jolie promenade. L’abbaye se trouve de l’autre côté de l’Orbieu. On y accède en franchissant le Pont Vieux ou bien une passerelle se trouvant en amont.

La visite de l’Abbaye de Lagrasse

L’Abbaye de Lagrasse est l’un des sites majeurs du Pays Cathare. Il s’agit d’un ensemble exceptionnel de bâtiments du XIIe au XVIIIe évoquant les moments de la vie monastique. Elle est aujourd’hui divisée en deux parties : une partie publique appartenant au département de l’Aude et une partie privée, où vit une communauté de chanoines. Les deux ensembles se visitent distinctement.

La visite de la partie publique de l’Abbaye de Lagrasse

La visite de la partie publique permet de découvrir la cour du Palais abbatial, le cellier, la boulangerie, le dortoir des moines, les chapelles basse et haute, la sacristie, le transept nord de l’église, une salle dédiée au Maître de Cabestany et la salle d’apparat, au cœur des appartements privés de l’abbé.

Préparez votre visite en téléchargeant le dépliant sur le site de l’Abbaye de Lagrasse.

Pour une visite accompagnée, contactez un guides conférenciers.

Vous pouvez aussi télécharger l’application Pays Cathare, Le Guide qui propose une balade commentée pour vous accompagner lors de la découverte de l’Abbaye de Lagrasse. Pour les enfants, téléchargez l’application Castrum, le jeu pour qu’ils visitent l’abbaye en s’amusant !

La visite de la partie privée de l’Abbaye de Lagrasse

Il est aussi possible de visiter la partie privée appelée « Abbaye Canoniale Sainte-Marie », administrée depuis 2004 par une communauté de Chanoines. Vous pourrez admirer l’église abbatiale, le cloître, les bâtiments conventuels du XVIIIème siècle, le transept sud et le jardin. Attention, actuellement le jardin, la tour et le transept sont fermés pour travaux. L’été, les visiteurs peuvent assister l’après-midi (tous les jours sauf le jeudi) à une visite commentée par un chanoine. La messe et les offices dont les horaires sont disponibles ici sont chantées en grégorien selon le rite romain.

La Maison du banquet et des générations

L’abbaye, côté partie publique, abrite aussi La Maison du banquet et des Générations, un centre culturel dédié aux livres et à la pensée comprenant une librairie. Des évènement sont organisés régulièrement. Surveillez leur agenda !

La Maison du Patrimoine

Autre incontournable de Lagrasse, La Maison du Patrimoine prend place dans un ancien presbytère avec des plafonds à caissons peints du XIIIème au début XVIème siècle et une exposition « Images oubliées du moyen âge ». Elle abrite également le Bureau d’information touristique de Lagrasse.


Visiter Lagrasse, L’un des « Plus beau village de France »

La visite de Lagrasse, l’un des plus beaux villages de France, offre la possibilité de passer une journée très agréable et même plus encore ! Restaurants, boutiques de terroir et d’artisans, marché le samedi matin, baignade dans la rivière, randonnée à pied ou à vélo… Il y en a pour tous les goûts !