The villages of Corbières and Minervois, typically southern, are the result of centuries of history. Their shape and organization still speak of ancient times today and testimonies of past activities are often scattered here and there around alleys and plots.

From prehistory to the Roman period

Human occupation in Corbières Minervois is very old. For prehistoric periods, traces are fleeting, except for dolmens (Massac) or sets of type oppidum like that of Ornaisons (Mourrel).
The Romans occupant la Narbonne province From -118 and begin to organize, manage and use the space. In the Lézignan plain, the ideal place of passage for the Via Aquitania, over the course of agricultural work, came to the surface, pottery, tegulae, fragments of funerary stelae, lamps ... evidence of the past organization of the land within the framework of the " Villa ", whose etymological root is found in our famous village.

The castle village

The villages that you will visit during your travels each have their own history. The first historical traces go back between the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries for the majority. The first nuclei of occupation are then created, the first foundations.

Le castral village is the village par excellence of our territory. It is built on a rocky eminence (Cucugnan, Laroque-de-Fa), a promontory (Albières which controlled the valley of Orbieu), a hill (Soulatgé, monitors the valley of Verdouble) or a hill (Conilhac-Corbières is built on a small hillock, as well as Tourouzelle).

Conilhac-Corbières
Conilhac-Corbières


It is judiciously placed near a watercourse or at the confluences, on a communication axis and favorably oriented due south. Padern controls for example the gorges of Torgan and Verdouble.

Padern


At the top of the hill, was the seigneurial castle, which surrounded itself with the houses of the peasants who came to take shelter. The houses were stacked around it, themselves forming ramparts.
If today, you are looking for these ancient castles, you will only discover a few elements of the fortifications, or the old castle church, which over time has become the village church (Crusades, Montgaillard, Cascastel).
Fabrezan still proudly wears its stately tower. In Lanet, the painter Max Savy made the imposing castle his home of choice. In Argens-Minervois, the imposing mass of the castle is reflected in the green waters of the Canal du Midi. Finally, in Durban, the impressive ruins of the castle dominate the village from their majestic height. And if you are looking for a little trip back in time, go through the door of the snail district of Saint Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse, the nucleus of the old castle village in its XNUMXth century juice.

Fabrezan
Fabrezan

Ecclesial origins

Other villages have more ecclesial origins. The habitat, instead of being organized around a castle, will be concentrated around the church. This is the case for Lézignan-Corbières, Mouthoumet, Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse, Saint-André-de-Roquelongue, Quintillan, and Tuchan.

Lézignan-Corbières


Having a church or the presence of a priory (Saint-Martin-des-Puits) as its origin does not prevent these villages from retaining traces of fortifications identical to that of the seigneurial “castrums”. This is the case of Mouthoumet and Tuchan who each have a "Strong" corresponding to primitive nucleus of the village.

There are also several special cases in Corbières Minervois. The village of Lagrasse grows in mirror image of the abbey on the opposite bank. In Villerouge-Termenès, the village is built around the seigneurial castle. But in this case of a seigneurial castrum, the lord was the archbishop of Narbonne. This important politician and religious, demonstrated his secular power through a castle with four large imposing towers.
Finally, in Termes, the castrum of Olivier de Termes was destroyed by the King of France and all the population moved to the site of the current village. Space was needed to build the military fortress that can be visited today.
In the same way, the old castral habitat of Peyrepertuse was destroyed and the populations displaced on Duilhac, to consecrate the military use of the spur of the castle.

Extinct habitats

All these villages correspond to habitats which “managed” to last over time. At the heart of scrubland and scrubland, toponymy and archeology can reveal traces of ancient settlements, deserted at different times: either during the organization of medieval settlements, such as Davejean or Montjoi, or more late from the XNUMXth century, for example the village and the castle of Bouisse in Montséret, Castelmaure in the town of Embres-et-Castelmaure, or even Luc-sur-Orbieu.

La Bouisse Montséret
the ruins of the château de la bouisse in montséret

Constantly evolving villages.

Strolling through the alleys of the villages in Corbières and Minervois, you will no longer be challenged by the mass of a castle, a fortified gate or the presence of a church in the heart of an ancient network of alleys. However, you will quickly realize that these villages certainly have a medieval birth, but have known how to grow and evolve over the centuries. Very often medieval settlements were razed or abandoned and it is the barris or suburbs that were more successful. In the XNUMXth century, the cartography of our villages evolved in front of the modern necessities and development of viticulture.

On the old ditches, are built wide avenues planted with plane trees… The obsolete fortifications disappear, the village opens, expands and is organized around the public school and the town hall… when it is not the dead that we move.
For some villages, the wine culture brings a new demographic boom, new districts are emerging along the freshly cut avenues, putting the spotlight on Mansion, winegrowers' houses and cellars (Fabrezan, Moux, Canet, Boutenac, Saint-Laurent -de-la-Cabrerisse). A new living together is being organized in this way.

Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse
village of Saint Laurent de la Cabrerisse

Les villages des Corbières et du Minervois, typiquement méridionaux, sont le résultat de siècles d’histoire. Leur forme et leur organisation parlent encore aujourd’hui des temps anciens et les témoignages des activités passées sont souvent disséminés ça et là au détour des ruelles et des placettes.

De la préhistoire à la période romaine

L’occupation humaine en Corbières Minervois est très ancienne. Pour les périodes préhistoriques, les traces sont fugaces, hormis les dolmens (Massac) ou les ensembles de type oppidum comme celui d’Ornaisons (Mourrel).
Les Romains occupent la Province narbonnaise à partir de -118 et commencent à organiser, gérer et exploiter l’espace. Dans la plaine lézignanaise, lieu de passage par excellence de la Via Aquitania, au fil des travaux agricoles, sont remontés à la surface, poteries, tegulae, fragments de stèles funéraires, lampes… preuves de l’organisation passée du terroir dans le cadre de la « villa », dont la racine étymologique se retrouve dans notre fameux village.

Le village castral

Les villages que vous visiterez au fil de vos périples ont chacun leur histoire propre. Les premières traces historiques remontent entre les XIe et XIIe siècles pour la plupart. Se créent alors les premiers noyaux d’occupation, les premières fondations.

Le village castral est le village par excellence de notre territoire. Il est construit sur une éminence rocheuse (Cucugnan, Laroque-de-Fa), un promontoire (Albières qui contrôlait la vallée de l’Orbieu), un coteau (Soulatgé, surveille la vallée du Verdouble) ou une colline (Conilhac-Corbières est bâti sur une petite butte, ainsi que Tourouzelle).

Conilhac-Corbières
Conilhac-corbières


Il est judicieusement placé à proximité d’un cours d’eau ou aux confluences, sur un axe de communication et favorablement orienté plein sud. Padern contrôle par exemple les gorges du Torgan et du Verdouble.

Padern


Au sommet de la butte, se trouvait le château seigneurial, qui s’entourait des maisons des paysans venus s’abriter. Les maisons s’étageaient autour, formant elles-mêmes des remparts.
Si aujourd’hui, vous cherchez ces anciens châteaux, vous ne découvrirez que quelques éléments de fortifications, ou bien l’ancienne église castrale, qui est devenue au fil du temps l’église du village (Crusades, Montgaillard, Cascastel).
Fabrezan arbore encore fièrement sa tour seigneuriale. A Lanet, le peintre Max Savy a fait de l’imposant château sa demeure de prédilection. A Argens-Minervois, la masse imposante du château se reflète dans les eaux vertes du Canal du Midi. Enfin, à Durban, les ruines impressionnantes du château dominent le village de leur hauteur majestueuse. Et si vous recherchez un petit voyage dans le temps, passez la porte du quartier de l’escargot de Saint Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse, noyau de l’ancien village castral dans son jus du XVIIe siècle.

Fabrezan
Fabrezan

Des origines ecclésiales

D’autres villages ont des origines plus ecclésiales. L’habitat, au lieu de s’organiser autour d’un château, va se concentrer autour de l’église. C’est le cas de Lézignan-Corbières, Mouthoumet, Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse, Saint-André-de-Roquelongue, Quintillan, et Tuchan.

Lézignan-Corbières


Avoir pour origine de fondation, une église ou la présence d’un prieuré (Saint-Martin-des-Puits) n’empêche pas ces villages de conserver des traces de fortifications identiques à celle des « castrum » seigneuriaux. C’est le cas de Mouthoumet et de Tuchan qui possèdent chacun un « fort » correspondant au noyau primitif du village.

Il existe aussi plusieurs cas particuliers en Corbières Minervois. Le village de Lagrasse se développe en miroir de l’abbaye sur la rive opposée. A Villerouge-Termenès, le village est construit autour du château seigneurial. Mais dans ce cas de castrum seigneurial, le seigneur était l’archevêque de Narbonne. Cet homme politique et religieux important, démontra son pouvoir séculier à travers un château aux quatre grandes tours imposantes.
Enfin, à Termes, le castrum d’Olivier de Termes fut détruit par le roi de France et toute la population déplacée sur le site du village actuel. Il fallait de la place pour construire la forteresse militaire qui se visite aujourd’hui.
De la même manière, l’ancien habitat castral de Peyrepertuse fut détruit et les populations déplacées sur Duilhac, pour consacrer l’usage militaire de l’éperon du château.

Des habitats disparus

Tous ces villages correspondent à des habitats qui « ont réussi » à durer dans le temps. Au cœur des garrigues et des maquis, la toponymie et l’archéologie peuvent révéler les traces d’anciens habitats, désertés à des époques différentes : soit au moment de l’organisation des sites d’habitat médiévaux, comme Davejean ou Montjoi, soit plus tardivement à partir du XVIe siècle, par exemple le village et le château de la Bouisse à Montséret, Castelmaure sur la commune d’Embres-et-Castelmaure, ou encore Luc-sur-Orbieu.

La Bouisse Montséret
les ruines du château de la bouisse à montséret

Des villages en constante évolution.

En flânant dans les ruelles des villages en Corbières et Minervois, vous ne serez donc plus interpelés par la masse d’un château, une porte fortifiée ou la présence d’une église au cœur d’un réseau ancien de ruelles. Toutefois, vous vous apercevrez vite que ces villages ont certes une naissance médiévale, mais ont su grandir et évoluer au fil des siècles. Bien souvent les habitats médiévaux furent rasés ou abandonnés et ce sont les barris ou faubourgs qui connurent plus de succès. Au XIXe siècle, la cartographie de nos villages évoluent devant les nécessités modernes et le développement de la viticulture.

Sur les anciens fossés, se construisent de larges avenues plantées de platanes… les fortifications désuètes disparaissent, le village s’ouvre se dilate et s’organise autour de l’école publique et de la mairie… quand ce ne sont pas les morts que l’on déplace.
Pour certains villages, la culture viticole amène un nouvel essor démographique, de nouveaux quartiers se dessinent en bordure des avenues fraîchement taillées, mettant à l’honneur Maisons de maître, maisons vigneronnes et chais (Moux, Canet, Boutenac, Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse). Un nouveau vivre ensemble s’organise ainsi.

Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse