Linking Toulouse to Sète, The Canal du Midi is an invitation to relax. Its peaceful atmosphere wins over those who indulge in reverie while following their course. Here is the Wild Canal du Midi that awaits you, punctuated by small villages typical au southern charm, small ports and locks, surrounded by hills, scrubland and vines.

Le Canal du Midi vers Roubia

On the roads ...

The paths which border the Canal du Midi are ideal for walking or cycling. Le GR, Pyrenean Piedmont path to Santiago de Compostela, for example follows the Canal du Midi from Paraza to Homps. Other routes leave from the villages which border it and allow to contemplate it from the heights. Linking the Atlantic to the Mediterranean, the cycle route of Canal des 2 mers by bike allows you to discover it while roaming over several days!

To know !

If you want to cycle along the Canal du Midi, we recommend using mountain bikes or all-terrain bikes. Development works are underway but to date it is necessary to be equipped with bicycles suitable for irregular terrain. For the rental of classic or electric mountain bikes, you will find what you are looking for at Mellow Bikes in Roubia. Another option for classic bikes: Bike rental at Homps.

vélo au bord du canal du midi

Sail on the canal

It is also on a boat that it reveals itself to the traveler in search of calm and contemplation. Take the helm of a houseboat and become captain for a few days or just let yourself be driven during a commented walk on barge Saint Ferréol.

Sail on the canal

Boat trip or boat rental

Next
Next

Leisure facilities

Midi Cruises

Next

Hapimag


What to do around the Canal du Midi?

The best moments to experience around the Canal du Midi


The charm of the villages of the Canal du Midi

Homps, a lively little port

Le port of Homps is ideal for exploring the Canal du Midi. The terraces of restaurants are welcoming and it is also the starting point of a commented cruise exciting on the barge Saint-Ferréol. The House of the Port in Minervois houses the tourist information point and the harbor master's office and The House of Wines of Minervois, ideal for discovering raw of this name and to make some purchases of wine and de local products.

Homps is also bordered by the Jouarres lake, where you can swim, canoe, windsurf, play on inflatable buoys, fish or simply take a nap in the shade. A marked hike even allows you to walk around it from the port of Homps!

Argens-Minervois, a panorama of the Canal du Midi

Argens-Minervois is a pretty village built around its castle and crossed by the Canal du Midi. The easy and marked hike The Pech Laurier leaves the village and allows you to reach the heights of the hill where there is a breathtaking view of the canal, Lac des Aiguilles and the village. The whole constitutes a protected site. Back to Argens-Minervois, sit on the terrace au waterfront edge to taste the local cuisine!

Roubia, southern charm

By following the Canal du Midi, you will arrive at Roubia, where the southern charm of our small villages in Minervois is expressed. A small grocery where we can also feast on grill, a charming square where have a drink while nibbling some tapas, narrow streets that can be discovered by following the marked promenade The Three Groves. It is also in Roubia at Mellow Bikes that we can ride a classic or electric bike, or why not even a tandem? Do not miss: a visit to the Windmill of the Restanque where Laurent and Magali produce a fruity olive oil as well as olives and tapenade delicious perfect for aperitif !

Paraza, artists' village

At the bend of a meander stands paraza with its majestic castle early XNUMXth century which sheltered Paul Riquet during the construction of the Canal. Was it within these walls that the idea of ​​a Canal Bridge to span the stream of Repudiate ?

 Le Paraza castle has been rehabilitated by the Danglas family who offer guest rooms charming and also produces famous wines, to discover during a tasting monumental cellar. In season, a restaurant takes place in the castle park for a meal in the shade, lulled by the song of the cicadas.

On the dock Le Clap art gallery welcomes enthusiasts and amateurs. Others artists' workshops and shops opened their doors to the delight of curious visitors!

To do some shopping, have a coffee or have a quick bite to eat, go to the grocery store The stone relay where the best welcome will be reserved for you.

Reliant Toulouse à Sète, Le Canal du Midi est une invitation à la détente. Son atmosphère paisible gagne celui qui se laisse aller à la rêverie en suivant son cours. Ici, c’est le Canal du Midi sauvage qui vous attend, ponctué de petits villages typiques au charme méridional, de petits ports et d’écluses, entouré de collines, de garrigue et de vignes.

Le Canal du Midi vers Roubia

Sur les chemins…

Les chemins qui bordent le Canal du Midi se prêtent idéalement à la promenade à pied ou à vélo. Le GR 78, chemin des Piémonts Pyrénéens vers Saint Jacques de Compostelle, suit par exemple le Canal du Midi de Paraza jusqu’à Homps. D’autre itinéraires partent des villages qui le bordent et permettent de le contempler depuis les hauteurs. Reliant l’Atlantique à la Méditerranée, l’itinéraire cyclable du Canal des 2 mers à Vélo permet de le découvrir en itinérance sur plusieurs jours !

A savoir !

Si vous souhaitez vous balader à vélo le long du Canal du Midi, nous recommandons d’utiliser des VTT ou des vélos tous chemins. Des travaux d’aménagement sont en cours mais à ce jour il est nécessaire d’être équipé de vélos adaptés à des terrains irréguliers. Pour la location de VTT classiques ou électriques, vous trouverez votre bonheur chez Mellow Vélos à Roubia. Autre option pour des vélos classiques : Vélocation à Homps.

vélo au bord du canal du midi

Voguer sur le canal

C’est aussi en bateau qu’il se révèle au voyageur en quête de calme et de contemplation. Prenez la barre d’une péniche habitable et devenez capitaine pour quelques jours ou laissez-vous simplement conduire lors d’une balade commentée sur la péniche Saint Ferréol.

Voguer sur la canal

Promenade en péniche ou location de bateau

Suivant
Suivant

Equipements de loisirs

Croisières Du Midi

Suivant

Hapimag


Que faire autour du Canal du Midi ?

Les meilleurs moments à vivre autour du Canal du Midi


Le charme des villages du Canal du Midi

Homps, un petit port animé

Le port de Homps est idéal pour découvrir le Canal du Midi. Les terrasses des restaurants sont accueillantes et c’est aussi le point de départ d’une croisière commentée passionnante sur la péniche Saint-Ferréol. La Maison du Port en Minervois abrite le point d’informations touristique et la capitainerie ainsi que La Maison des Vins du Minervois, idéale pour découvrir les crus de cette appellation et pour faire quelques achats de vin et de produits du terroir.

Homps est aussi bordé par le Lac de Jouarres, où l’on peut se baigner, faire du canoë, de la planche à voile, jouer sur des bouées gonflables, pêcher ou simplement faire la sieste à l’ombre. Une randonnée balisée permet même d’en faire le tour au départ du port de Homps !

Argens-Minervois, un panorama sur le Canal du Midi

Argens-Minervois est un joli village bâti autour de son château et traversé par le Canal du Midi. La randonnée facile et balisée Le Pech Laurier part du village et permet de gagner les hauteurs de la colline où s’offre une vue imprenable sur le canal, le lac des Aiguilles et le village. L’ensemble constitue un site protégé. De retour à Argens-Minervois, installez-vous en terrasse au bord au bord de l’eau pour goûter à la cuisine locale !

Roubia, le charme méridional

En suivant le Canal du Midi, vous arriverez à Roubia, où s’exprime le charme méridional de nos petits villages du Minervois. Une petite épicerie où l’on peut aussi se régaler de grillades, une placette charmante où boire un verre en grignotant quelques tapas, des ruelles étroites que l’on découvre en suivant la promenade balisée Les Trois Bosquets. C’est aussi à Roubia chez Mellow Vélos que l’on peut enfourcher un vélo classique ou électrique, ou pourquoi pas même un tandem ? A ne pas manquer : une visite du Moulin de la Restanque où Laurent et Magali produisent une huile d’olive fruitée ainsi que des olives et des tapenades délicieuses parfaites pour l’apéro !

Paraza, village d’artistes

Au détour d’un méandre se dresse Paraza avec son majestueux château début XVIIème qui abrita Paul Riquet durant la construction du Canal. Est-ce dans ces murs que lui vint l’idée d’un Pont-Canal pour enjamber le ruisseau du Répudre ?

 Le château de Paraza a été réhabilité par la famille Danglas qui propose des chambres d’hôtes de charme et produit également des vins réputés, à découvrir lors d’une dégustation dans le chai monumental. En saison, un restaurant prend place dans le parc du château pour un repas à l’ombre, bercés par le chant des cigales.

Sur le quai, la galerie d’art Le Clap accueille passionnés et amateurs.  D’autres ateliers et boutiques d’artistes ont ouvert leurs portes pour le plus grand bonheur des visiteurs curieux !

Pour faire quelques emplettes, prendre un café ou se restaurer sur le pouce, rendez-vous à l’épicerie-snack Le relai de pierre où le meilleur accueil vous sera réservé.