Many generations had dreamed of connecting the Mediterranean to the Atlantic Ocean. We had to wait for spring 1681 for this dream to come true, and this by the will and genius of a child from the Pays d'Oc: Pierre Paul Riquet… His “genius” was quite simply to think of supplying the canal with water from the streams of the Montagne Noire.

Pierre Paul Riquet

A titanic undertaking.

In October 1666, an edict of Louis XIV orders the construction of navigation and communication channel of the two seas, Océane and the Mediterranean. Riquet then commits his personal fortune and takes care of the work. The construction was done in record time. For fourteen years, at the head of an “army” of 12 workers, he built the surprising reservoir of Saint Ferréol, he overcame all obstacles by realizing 328 structures : locks, bridges (Le Somail, Pont Canal du Répudre), aqueducts, tunnels (Malpas), spillway (Patiasses)… over a length of 240 km. Since 1996, it has been classified at Unesco World Heritage.

L'écluse du Pech Laurier à Argens-Minervois

The first canal bridge

Le Repudre Canal Bridge, located in the town of paraza and the first canal bridge to have been built in France (1676). Its construction employed up to 400 workers. It allows the Canal du Midi to cross the Répudre river.

Repudre Canal Bridge

Le pont-canal du Répudre à Paraza

Le Paraza Castle dating from the beginning of the XNUMXth century sheltered Paul Riquet during the construction of the Canal. Today it is owned by the Danglas family who have built lavish guest rooms and adjoins the cellar where the wines are produced and sold. wines from Domaine.

Le Château de Paraza

Transport and trade.

It's before all wheat trade which motivated the construction of the Canal du Midi. It was necessary to promote exchanges between Aquitaine and Languedoc. In the XNUMXth century, the vines did not yet fully benefit from the commercial openings of this exceptional waterway and its commercialization was confirmed especially in the following century.

Le port of Homps was one of the most important of the course, in particular because the barges could maneuver there. Of many wine merchants settled there and it is in Homps that the Wines of Corbières and Minervois embarked in the direction of Sète or Bordeaux. Today, the ideal place to discover the wines of Minervois is still located on the port, The House of Wines of Minervois.

Madame Cradock, a traveler from the 18th century.

A theSomail Tourist Office, visit the hologram of Mrs Cradock, an 1831th century British tourist who will tell you the story of the Canal and its journey. The Canal was not reserved for the transport of goods and many people also used it for their travels. In 28, the registers show 000 travelers!


The tourist boom

Today the barges sail the green waters of the canal to approval. Sure le Canal du Midi, people in a hurry can iron! The towpaths are borrowed with calm that one is walk or by bike, and the locks, canal bridges… recall the necessary humility and patience of men in front of this exceptional monument. The Pech Laurier Lock in Argens-Minervois is one of the 64 locks in the Canal du Midi.


Save the Canal du Midi

Since the discovery of the colored chancre disease in 2006, more than 20 plane trees had to be shot to stem the spread of the virus. 

La reconstruction of this emblematic heritage is a complex project. To act in the long term, Voies navigables de France has set up a backup program, to which all actors of the territory are associated: the State, regional and general councils, municipalities, water agencies, environmental associations ... and of course all canal lover.

Campagne Replantons le Canal du Midi

De nombreuses générations avaient rêvé de relier la Méditerranée à l’Océan Atlantique. Il fallut attendre le printemps 1681 pour que ce rêve se réalise, et cela par la volonté et le génie d’un enfant du Pays d’Oc : Pierre Paul Riquet… Son “génie” a été tout simplement, de penser à alimenter le canal avec les eaux des ruisseaux de la Montagne Noire.

Pierre Paul Riquet

Une entreprise titanesque.

En octobre 1666, un édit de Louis XIV ordonne la construction du canal de navigation et de communication des deux Mers, Océane et Méditerranée. Riquet engage alors sa fortune personnelle et se charge des travaux. La construction se fit en un temps record. Pendant quatorze ans, à la tête d’une “armée” de 12 000 ouvriers, il bâtit le surprenant réservoir de Saint Ferréol, il franchit tous les obstacles en réalisant 328 ouvrages d’art : écluses, ponts (Le Somail, le Pont Canal du Répudre), aqueducs, tunnels (Malpas), épanchoir (Patiasses)… sur une longueur de 240 km. Depuis 1996, il est classé au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO.

L'écluse du Pech Laurier à Argens-Minervois

Le premier pont-canal

Le Pont-Canal du Répudre, situé sur la commune de Paraza est le premier pont-canal à avoir été construit en France (1676). Sa construction occupa jusqu’à 400 ouvriers. Il permet au Canal du Midi de franchir la rivière Répudre.

Pont-Canal du Répudre

Le pont-canal du Répudre à Paraza

Le Château de Paraza datant du début du XVIIème siècle abrita Paul Riquet durant la construction du Canal. Il est aujourd’hui propriété de la famille Danglas qui y a aménagé de somptueuses chambres d’hôtes et jouxte le chai où sont produits et vendus les vins du domaine.

Le Château de Paraza

Transport et commerce.

C’est avant tout le commerce du blé qui a motivé la construction du Canal du Midi. Il fallait favoriser les échanges entre Aquitaine et Languedoc. Au XVIIIe siècle, la vigne ne profite pas encore totalement des ouvertures commerciales de cette voie navigable d’exception et sa commercialisation s’affirme surtout au siècle suivant.

Le port de Homps était l’un des plus importants du tracé, notamment parce que les péniches pouvaient y manœuvrer. De nombreux négociants en vin s’y installèrent et c’est à Homps qu’embarquaient les Vins des Corbières et du Minervois en direction de Sète ou de Bordeaux. Aujourd’hui, le lieu idéal pour découvrir les vins du Minervois se situe toujours sur le port, à La Maison des Vins du Minervois.

Madame Cradock, une voyageuse du 18ème siècle.

A l’Office de Tourisme du Somail, rendez-visite à l’hologramme de Mme Cradock, touriste britannique du XVIIIe siècle qui vous contera l’histoire du Canal et de son périple. Le Canal n’était pas réservé au transport de marchandises et de nombreuses personnes l’empruntaient aussi pour leurs déplacements. En 1831, les registres font état de 28 000 voyageurs !


L’essor touristique

Aujourd’hui les péniches voguent les eaux vertes du canal pour l’agrément. Sur le Canal du Midi, les gens pressés peuvent repasser ! Les chemins de halage s’empruntent avec calme que l’on soit à pied ou à vélo, et les écluses, pont-canaux… rappellent les nécessaires humilité et patience des hommes devant ce monument d’exception. L’Ecluse du Pech Laurier d’Argens-Minervois fait partie des 64 écluses du canal du midi.


Sauvons le Canal du Midi

Depuis la découverte de la maladie du chancre coloré en 2006, plus de 20 500 platanes ont dû être abattus pour endiguer la propagation du virus. 

La reconstruction de ce patrimoine emblématique est un projet complexe. Pour agir sur le long terme, Voies navigables de France a mis sur pied un programme de sauvegarde, auquel tous les acteurs du territoire sont associés : l’Etat, les conseils régionaux et généraux, les communes, les agences de l’eau, les associations environnementales… et bien sûr tous les amoureux du canal.

Campagne Replantons le Canal du Midi