Gaining height always offers a nice reward to the walker. At the end of the ascent, the gaze is on the hilly landscapes, often as far as the Pyrenees mountains or the Mediterranean sea. Here is a selection of some viewpoints in Corbières Minervois.

1. Between Corbières and Minervois, the Rocher du Renard.

Departing from Montbrun-des-Corbières, the marked "easy" hike from Fox Rock drives over a rocky ridge. The limestone cornice (the famous "Rocher du Renard") dominates the entire plain of the Aude to Mont Alaric which bars the horizon. Continuing west, the path offers a breathtaking view of the Minervois plain and the Montagne Noire.

Point de vue vers Montbrun-des-Corbières
Viewpoint over the Minervois plain and the black mountain in the background
to access the point of view

the fox rock hike


2. La Bouisse in Montséret

A Montséret, the easy hike "The Land of Mabile » leads to the ruins of Bouisse castle on the hill of the same name. A few interpretation panels enlighten the curious on the past of this site. It also offers a superb view of the Corbières and Mont Saint Victor.

La Bouisse Montséret
To access the viewpoint

The Pays de Mabile hike


3. Mount Alaric and Roc de l'Aigle

Le Mount Alaric is an ideal promontory to have a breathtaking panorama on the surroundings. On a clear day, you can even see the sea. Congoust gorges, a few kilometers from Camplong-d'Aude and Holliday, the GR36 provides access to the ruins of priory of Saint Michael of Nahuze then the Roc de l'Aigle which dominates the plain. The most motivated can continue until the lookout which culminates at 600 meters of altitude, before returning by the same path as to go. On the way back, it is another glance which is offered to the walker. A great outing in perspective with a great reward at stake !

Le Roc de l'Aigle Alaric
view from the rock of the eagle on the alaric

How to get to the Roc de l'Aigle? :

To access the Roc de l'Aigle from the Gorges du Congoust, follow the GR36 (red and white markings). You will return to the starting point by the same route.

  • Red and white markings (GR 36).
  • Duration: 3h30 round trip, without the breaks.
  • Distance: 4.9 km (round trip, the rock of the eagle is therefore located about 2.5 km from the gorges of Congoust by the GR36).
  • Positive elevation 320 meters, negative difference in altitude 320 meters.
  • Be careful, there is almost no shade on the course, provide water and hat / cap. Not to be undertaken on windy days because the Alaric is very exposed. On the way back, be careful on the way down because the limestone can roll under your feet.
  • To go from the Roc de l'Aigle to the lookout, you have to add 30 minutes one way and 80 meters of vertical drop, so a total of 4h30, D + 400 m.

4. The rock of Cagalière in Lagrasse

Le Roc de la Cagalière offers splendid point of view on Lagrasse, sound abbey but also on the wild mountains of Hautes Corbières et the Orbieu valley. To access it, you must follow the marked hike "Charlemagne's foot". The Roc de la Cagalière is located 1,2 km from the starting point of the hike (elevation gain 130 meters). You can either continue this one, or return to Lagrasse by the same path.

La Notre-Dame-du-Carla hike also offers pretty views of the surroundings.

Warning ! There is no barrier or guardrail at the Roc de la Cagalière and the rock presents flaws that we can step over. Be very vigilant! Avoid going with children or keep them under close supervision.

To access the viewpoint

hiking around Lagrasse


5. The castles of Peyrepertuse and Quéribus

Perched on a rocky ridge, overlooking the Verdouble valley, the Peyrepertuse Castle is ideal for combining cultural visit et walk with panoramic view. On a clear day, you can see the Mediterranean Sea from the remains. His neighbour Quéribus also offers from its rocky outcrop a superb panorama on the surroundings, reward for the ascent of its stone stairs. Two essential visits in Corbières!


You will also like...

Anissa

by Anissa

Litterature 4 min

Prendre de la hauteur offre toujours une belle récompense au marcheur. Au terme de l’ascension, le regard se porte sur les paysages vallonnés, souvent jusqu’aux montagnes pyrénéennes ou à la mer méditerranée. Voici une sélection de quelques points de vue en Corbières Minervois.

1. Entre Corbières et Minervois, le Rocher du Renard.

Au départ de Montbrun-des-Corbières, la randonnée balisée « facile » du Rocher du Renard conduit sur une crête rocheuse. La corniche de calcaire (le fameux « Rocher du Renard ») domine toute la plaine de l’Aude jusqu’au mont Alaric qui barre l’horizon. En poursuivant sur vers l’ouest, le chemin offre une vue imprenable sur la plaine du Minervois et la Montagne Noire.

Point de vue vers Montbrun-des-Corbières
Point de vue sur la plaine du Minervois et la montagne noire en toile de fond
pour accéder au point de vue

la randonnée du rocher du renard


2. La Bouisse à Montséret

A Montséret, la randonnée facile « Le Pays de Mabile » conduit jusqu’aux ruines du château de la Bouisse sur la colline du même nom. Quelques panneaux d’interprétation éclairent le curieux sur le passé de ce site. Il offre en outre un superbe point de vue sur les Corbières et le Mont Saint Victor.

La Bouisse Montséret
Pour accéder au point de vue

La randonnée du Pays de Mabile


3. Le mont Alaric et le Roc de l’Aigle

Le Mont Alaric est un promontoire idéal pour avoir un panorama époustouflant sur les environs. Par temps clair, on aperçoit même la mer. Au départ des gorges du Congoust, à quelques kilomètres de Camplong-d’Aude et de Ribaute, le GR36 permet d’accéder aux ruines du prieuré Saint Michel de Nahuze puis au Roc de l’Aigle qui domine la plaine. Les plus motivés pourront poursuivre jusqu’à la vigie qui culmine à 600 mètres d’altitude, avant de revenir par le même chemin qu’à aller. Au retour, c’est un autre regard qui s’offre au marcheur. Une belle sortie en perspective avec une formidable récompense à la clé !

Le Roc de l'Aigle Alaric
vue depuis le roc de l’aigle sur l’alaric

Comment accéder au Roc de l’Aigle ? :

Pour accéder au Roc de l’Aigle depuis les Gorges du Congoust, il faut suivre le GR36 (balisage rouge et blanc). Vous reviendrez au point de départ par le même itinéraire.

  • Balisage rouge et blanc (GR 36).
  • Durée : 3h30 aller-retour, sans les pauses.
  • Distance : 4.9 km (aller-retour, le roc de l’aigle est donc situé à environ 2.5 km des gorges du Congoust par le GR36).
  • Dénivelé positif 320 mètres, dénivelé négatif 320 mètres.
  • Attention, il n’y a quasiment pas d’ombre sur le parcours, prévoir de l’eau et un chapeau/casquette. A ne pas entreprendre les jours de vent car l’Alaric est très exposé. Au retour, prudence à la descente car les pierres calcaires peuvent rouler sous les pieds.
  • Pour aller du Roc de l’Aigle à la vigie, il faut ajouter 30 minutes aller et 80 mètres de dénivelé, donc au total 4h30, D+ 400 m.

4. Le roc de la Cagalière à Lagrasse

Le Roc de la Cagalière offre un splendide point de vue sur Lagrasse, son abbaye mais aussi sur les monts sauvages des Hautes Corbières et la vallée de l’Orbieu. Pour y accéder, il faut suivre la randonnée balisée « Le pied de Charlemagne ». Le Roc de la Cagalière se trouve à 1,2 km du point de départ de la randonnée (dénivelé positif 130 mètres). Vous pourrez soit poursuivre celle-ci, soit revenir à Lagrasse par le même chemin.

La randonnée de Notre-Dame-du-Carla offre aussi de jolis points de vue sur les environs.

Attention ! Il n’y a pas de barrière ni de garde-corps au Roc de la Cagalière et la roche présente des failles que l’on peut enjamber. Soyez très vigilants ! Évitez d’y aller avec de enfants ou gardez-les sous haute surveillance.

Pour accéder au point de vue

les randonnées autour de Lagrasse


5. Les châteaux de Peyrepertuse et de Quéribus

Perché sur une barre rocheuse, dominant la vallée du Verdouble, le Château de Peyrepertuse est idéal pour allier visiter culturelle et balade avec point de vue panoramique. Par temps clair, on aperçoit depuis les vestiges la mer méditerranée. Son voisin Quéribus offre aussi depuis son éperon rocheux un superbe panorama sur les environs, récompense de l’ascension de ses escaliers de pierre. Deux visites incontournables en Corbières !


Vous aimerez aussi…

Anissa

par Anissa

Lecture 4 min