Distance: 5,7 km
Duration (average) : 03h00
Level: Difficult
Elevation: 479 D +
Departure: TERMS
boucle
Yellow PR
Park in the car park at the entrance (or exit) of the village. Departure materialized by a stone stele, near the large bridge in the village. This Petite Vadrouille takes you back to the seigneurial era, from the tenth to the twelfth century, by telling the story of the longest siege of a feudal castle during the Albigensian crusade (1209-1229). > The numbered cairns refer to the “Les petits vadrouilles” booklets which evoke different themes (material and natural heritage, local stories and legends, etc.). They are available at Pom's multiservice points as well as at Termes and Villerouge-Termenès châteaux.

Walking

Ranking & labels

  • Vineyards and Discoveries

Your itinerary

TERMS

IGN map reference (s): IGN 2346 East, IGN 2447 West

1

Step 1

Join the stone stele near the bridge in the village. The reception of the castle (purchase of tickets for the visit and information) is on the other side. On the village side, go towards the church (open) and go up the alleys (GR® 36). Continue on the path which climbs towards the ridge.
2

Step 2

The trail splits in two (cairn 1). Fork to the left (GR® 36A) and continue on the ridge. Ruins of a sheepfold (cairn 2) evoke herds. We are on the Serre de Coste-Rase. The forest (cairn 3) begins (and recalls the importance of the wood supply for Montfort's army). Reach the Frau (cairn 4) (505 m; at the bottom, open the deep gorges of more than 400 m which testify to the violence of the geological upheaval caused by the formation of the Pyrenees in the Jurassic era).
3

Step 3

Go down the path to the Gardie pass.
4

Step 4

To the right, a return trip along the ridge leads to a viewpoint over the castles of Termes and Durfort, as well as the Montagne Noire and the Minervois to the north (cairn 5). Return to the Gardie pass.
5

Step 5

Descend westward on the undergrowth path (GR® 36A).
6

Step 6

Before the hairpin bend, leave the GR® and descend the steep path (be careful!) Towards the river. The path overlooks the valley and the Buade mill (cairn 6).
7

Step 7

Fording the river (be careful! Possibility of crossing on a footbridge located a few meters downstream). On the opposite bank, go see the waterfall 100 m upstream (on the left), come back then climb towards the D 40. Take the road to the left for a few meters. Before the tunnel, take the path on the right (view of the cruciform window of the castle chapel) (cairn 7).
8

Step 8

Go up the path on the left. It leads to the foot of the castle walls (cairn 8) (possibility of visiting the castle, with an entrance ticket). Return to the heart of the village.

Please note, the fire risk is currently high and may lead to the closures of flowerbeds. Find out before you go to consulting the fire risk map for outdoor activities.
Fires strictly prohibited.
Do not smoke or throw cigarette ends into the environment. Fires are numerous and catastrophic in our region.
In case of fire or accident: give alert 18 or 112 from a cell phone.
Protect yourself from the sun and take enough water with you.
Avoid picking flowers and plants. Take away all your waste.
Close fences and keep dogs on a leash in pasture areas, villages and protected areas. Thank you and have a good walk!

Reviews

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Distance : 5,7 km
Durée (moyenne) : 03h00
Niveau : Difficile
Dénivelé : 479 D+
Départ : TERMES
boucle
Jaune PR
Se garer sur le parking à l'entrée (ou à la sortie) du village. Départ matérialisé par une stèle en pierre, près du grand pont dans le village. Cette Petite Vadrouille vous transporte à l’époque seigneuriale, du xe au xiie siècle, en racontant l’histoire du plus long siège d’un château féodal pendant la croisade albigeoise (1209-1229). > Les cairns numérotés se réfèrent aux livrets « Les petites vadrouilles » qui évoquent différents thèmes (patrimoine matériel, naturel, histoires et légendes locales…). Ils sont disponibles dans les points multiservices Pom’s ainsi qu’aux châteaux de Termes et Villerouge-Termenès.

À pied

Classement & labels

  • Vignobles et Découvertes

Votre itinéraire

TERMES

Référence(s) carte(s) IGN : IGN 2346 Est, IGN 2447 Ouest

1

Étape 1

Rejoindre la stèle en pierre près du pont, dans le village. L’accueil du château (achat des billets pour la visite et renseignements) est sur l’autre rive. Côté village, aller vers l’église (ouverte) et monter par les ruelles (GR® 36). Continuer sur le sentier qui grimpe vers la crête.
2

Étape 2

Le sentier se divise en deux (cairn 1). Bifurquer à gauche (GR® 36A) et continuer sur la crête. Des ruines de bergerie (cairn 2) évoquent des troupeaux. On se trouve sur la Serre de Coste-Rase. La forêt (cairn 3) commence (et rappelle l’importance de l’approvisionnement en bois pour l’armée de Montfort). Parvenir à la Frau (cairn 4) (505 m ; en bas, s’ouvrent les gorges profondes de plus de 400 m qui témoignent de la violence du bouleversement géologique provoqué par la formation des Pyrénées à l’ère jurassique).
3

Étape 3

Descendre par le sentier jusqu’au col de la Gardie.
4

Étape 4

A droite, un aller-retour en suivant la crête permet de rejoindre un point de vue sur les châteaux de Termes et Durfort, ainsi que la Montagne Noire et le Minervois au nord (cairn 5). Revenir au col de la Gardie.
5

Étape 5

Descendre vers l’ouest par le sentier en sous-bois (GR® 36A).
6

Étape 6

Avant l’épingle, quitter le GR® et dévaler la sente abrupte (prudence !) en direction de la rivière. Le sentier surplombe la vallée et le moulin de la Buade (cairn 6).
7

Étape 7

Franchir la rivière à gué (prudence ! Possibilité de traverser sur une passerelle située quelques mètres en aval). Sur la rive opposée, aller voir la cascade à 100 m en amont (à gauche), revenir puis monter vers la D 40. Emprunter la route à gauche sur quelques mètres. Avant le tunnel, emprunter le chemin sur la droite (vue sur la fenêtre cruciforme de la chapelle du château) (cairn 7).
8

Étape 8

Monter par le sentier à gauche. Il mène au pied de l’enceinte du château (cairn 8) (possibilité de visiter le château, muni d’un billet d’entrée). Regagner le coeur du village.

Attention, le risque incendie est actuellement élevé et peut entrainer des fermetures de massifs. Renseignez-vous avant de partir en consultant la carte du risque incendie pour les activités de pleine nature.
Feux strictement interdits.
Ne fumez pas et ne jetez jamais de mégots dans la nature. Les incendies sont nombreux et catastrophiques dans notre région.
En cas d’incendie ou d’accident : donnez l’alerte 18 ou 112 à partir d’un portable.
Protégez-vous du soleil et emportez de l’eau en quantité suffisante.
Évitez la cueillette des fleurs et des plantes. Emportez tous vos déchets.
Refermez les clôtures et tenez les chiens en laisse dans les espaces de pâturages, les villages et les zones protégées. Merci et bonne promenade !

Avis

Ajouter un avis

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *