Distance: 6,4 km
Duration (average) : 02h30
Level: Easy
Elevation: 238 D +
1 opinions

Departure: LAGRASSE
boucle
Yellow PR
Could the legendary hoof of Charlemagne's horse have trod this place? Did this emperor focus his eyes on the exceptional point of view of the rock of Cagalière? Corbières and the Pyrenees are visible there. The red earths contrast with the green of the pines. The botanical trail will teach you more about the local flora.

Walking

Ranking & labels

  • Vineyards and Discoveries

Your itinerary

LAGRASSE

IGN map reference (s): IGN 2446 West

1

Step 1

Take the asphalt path which climbs in front of the forest house. Leave all the branches on either side and climb the fairly steep passage. After the cypress hedge, continue straight ahead, leave the Bénaourio subdivision and continue climbing.
2

Step 2

After the switchback, leave the track for the path indicated by a cairn on the left. It climbs steeply and leads to a fork near a game crop among the pines.
3

Step 3

Take the path on the left. It leads back and forth to the rock of Cagalière (exceptional view of the village, the Corbières, Alaric, the Pyrenees). Go back down to the fork. Continue on the path to the left (east), then take the forest track to the left. It crosses the pine forest and arrives at the level of two cairns (on the right, access to the famous Pied de Charlemagne, 50 m; according to legend, an excavation in the limestone rock would be the footprint of Charlemagne's horse).
4

Step 4

Continue along the track and reach a crossroads (information panel for the Le Romanissa botanical route).
5

Step 5

Take the Col-Rouch or Col-Rouge track to the right, after the green cistern, which crosses the Lagrasse communal forest in the Litié valley (shaded route; the typical stone walls recall the pastoral past of this valley; the expression “Col Rouch” comes from “Terre Rouge” because of the color of the soil due to red silts).
6

Step 6

At the Col Rouge crossroads ("Col Rouch forest road" sign), leave the track which continues straight ahead and turn right onto the slope on the hillside for about 3 km. She brings her back to the forest house.

Please note, the fire risk is currently high and may lead to the closures of flowerbeds. Find out before you go to consulting the fire risk map for outdoor activities.
Fires strictly prohibited.
Do not smoke or throw cigarette ends into the environment. Fires are numerous and catastrophic in our region.
In case of fire or accident: give alert 18 or 112 from a cell phone.
Protect yourself from the sun and take enough water with you.
Avoid picking flowers and plants. Take away all your waste.
Close fences and keep dogs on a leash in pasture areas, villages and protected areas. Thank you and have a good walk!

Reviews

Sebastien the Cathare The 21 July 2021
May 2021: pretty hike with the sumptuous climax: the rock of Cagalière. Charlemagne's foot is a little curiosity, and the botanical path seems abandoned, too bad, although there are still some interesting signs. Black point, the parking, I thought to park next to the starting sign of the hike but a prohibited parking by municipal decree of 2019 has been implemented, so where to park without paying?

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Distance : 6,4 km
Durée (moyenne) : 02h30
Niveau : Facile
Dénivelé : 238 D+
1 avis

Départ : LAGRASSE
boucle
Jaune PR
Le légendaire sabot du cheval de Charlemagne aurait-il foulé ces lieux ? Cet empereur a-t-il porté ses yeux sur l’exceptionnel point de vue du roc de Cagalière ? Corbières et Pyrénées s’y offrent au regard. Les terres rouges contrastent avec le vert des pins. Le sentier botanique vous en apprendra plus sur la flore locale.

À pied

Classement & labels

  • Vignobles et Découvertes

Votre itinéraire

LAGRASSE

Référence(s) carte(s) IGN : IGN 2446 Ouest

1

Étape 1

Prendre le chemin bitumé qui monte en face de la maison forestière. Laisser tous les embranchements de part et d’autre et gravir le passage assez raide. Après la haie de cyprès, continuer tout droit, quitter le lotissement de la Bénaourio et poursuivre l’ascension.
2

Étape 2

Après le lacet, quitter la piste pour le sentier signalé par un cairn à gauche. Il grimpe en forte pente et mène à une fourche près d’une culture à gibier au milieu des pins.
3

Étape 3

S’engager sur le sentier à gauche. Il conduit en aller-retour au roc de la Cagalière (point de vue exceptionnel sur le village, les Corbières, l’Alaric, les Pyrénées). Redescendre à la fourche. Continuer par le sentier à gauche (est), puis emprunter la piste forestière à gauche. Elle parcourt la pinède et arrive au niveau de deux cairns (à droite, accès au fameux Pied de Charlemagne, à 50 m ; selon la légende, une excavation dans la roche calcaire serait l’empreinte du pied du cheval de Charlemagne).
4

Étape 4

Poursuivre par la piste et gagner un carrefour (panneau d’information du parcours botanique Le Romanissa).
5

Étape 5

Emprunter à droite, après la citerne verte, la piste de Col-Rouch ou Col-Rouge qui traverse la forêt communale de Lagrasse dans la combe Litié (parcours ombragé ; les murets de pierre typiques rappellent le passé pastoral de cette combe ; l’expression « Col Rouch » vient de « Terre Rouge » à cause de la couleur du sol due à des limons rouges).
6

Étape 6

Au carrefour du col Rouge (panneau « route forestière Col Rouch »), laisser la piste qui continue tout droit et prendre à droite la piste à flanc de coteau sur 3 km environ. Elle ramène à la maison forestière.

Attention, le risque incendie est actuellement élevé et peut entrainer des fermetures de massifs. Renseignez-vous avant de partir en consultant la carte du risque incendie pour les activités de pleine nature.
Feux strictement interdits.
Ne fumez pas et ne jetez jamais de mégots dans la nature. Les incendies sont nombreux et catastrophiques dans notre région.
En cas d’incendie ou d’accident : donnez l’alerte 18 ou 112 à partir d’un portable.
Protégez-vous du soleil et emportez de l’eau en quantité suffisante.
Évitez la cueillette des fleurs et des plantes. Emportez tous vos déchets.
Refermez les clôtures et tenez les chiens en laisse dans les espaces de pâturages, les villages et les zones protégées. Merci et bonne promenade !

Avis

Sébastien le Cathare Le 21 juillet 2021
mai 2021 : jolie rando avec le point culminant somptueux : le roc de Cagalière. Le pied de Charlemagne est une petite curiosité, et le sentier botanique semble abandonné, dommage, bien qu'il reste quelques panneaux toujours intéressants. Point noir, le stationnement, je pensais me garer à coté du panneau de départ de la rando mais un stationnement interdit arrêté municipal de 2019 à été implanté, du coup où se garer sans payer ?

Ajouter un avis

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *