The gorges offer a setting of stone and greenery with the fresh and crystal-clear waters of the rivers, real blue gold in a country marked by summer drought.

The gorges of Termes

Just under the Castle of Termes, forming its natural defense, the Termenet gorges constitute a spectacular natural site and one of canyoning sites the most popular in Aude.

These gorges can be admired from the heights and then crossed by borrowing the walking route "1210, Termes, the impregnable".

Convenient :

  • Le car park of the Termenet gorges is paying.
  • Toilets adapted for people with reduced mobility.
  • Attention, the canyoning requires physical commitment and involves risks. The Town Hall of Termes tolerates the organization of descents accompanied by professionals.
Gorges du Termenet
les gorges du termenet, terms

Upstream, the Coyne Pont Gorge also offer a splendid setting to discover by browsing the Roc Nitable signposted hike.

hikes around the Termes gorges

Next

pedestrian

1210, The Impregnable Terms


The Gorges de l'Orbieu

Between Lanet et Montjoi, the Orbieu looks like a stream flowing at the bottom of deep gorges. The small road D212 allows you to follow the course. It will then expand to become the beautiful river which crosses Saint-Pierre-des-Champs then Lagrasse and Ribaute where it makes swimmers happy.

Rivière Orbieu Plan d'eau Les Fargues Ribaute
the orbieu à ribaute

Hikes around the gorges of the Orbieu

Next

pedestrian

A Tire D'ailes

Next

pedestrian

The Corbières pasture


The gorges of Ripaud

To the east of Fontjoncouse, Ripaud stream draws remarkable gorges by digging the massive limestones of the Jurassic. The D123 road runs along the stream and allows you to discover these gorges. The cycle touring route “Red Terres Challenge” also passes through these gorges.

Gorges

The gorges of Congoust

A few kilometers from the village of Camplong d'Aude, The winding course of the Mattes stream follows a spectacular parade between the Alaric and Coque mountains: the Congoust gorges (named by the Romans co-angustum: strangled passage). The landscape presents contrasting vegetation: very arid on the southern slope of the Alaric, much more wooded on the slope of the Coque covered with thickets of holm oaks. The course, framed by limestone cliffs and large scree, is animated by waterfalls and pots punctuating the stream.

Le GR36 cross the Congoust gorges. On one side, you can reach Lagrasse via Ribaute. On the other, join Montlaur through the ruins of the old priory of Saint Michael of Nahuze then near the Roc de l'Aigle which dominates the plain.


The Verdouble gorges

On the outskirts of the village of Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse and its famous castle, after a short jaunt on a road lined with vineyards, the Verdouble gorges say "The Cascades" offer a dazzling spectacle in a picturesque setting. The water flows there through a succession of waterfalls, pots and small natural lakes carved into the rock. A dam, the anchors of which remain in the rock, once supplied the wheat mill. This bucolic site is the ideal place for a swimming in the river. To get there, take the path from the village "The Ribaute mill". It is also accessible by car (paying parking in season).


The Torgan gorges

At the foot of the Tauch mountain, the Torgan gorges connect Padern to Montgaillard then Dernacueillette. The small road that follows the river can be borrowed by bike following the circuit "Wild Citadels and Corbières" or "In the kingdom of the boar".


Le Grau de Padern

Downstream from the village of Padern, le Verdouble flows again to cross a limestone ridge from the Tauch mountain, creating at the same time a site with magnificent gorges, which housed a mill in the Middle Ages and the XNUMXth century, a Catalan forge for the treatment of Corbières iron. You can admire these gorges by taking from the village, the path Goutine's step or GR also known as Cathar Trail, between Tuchan and Padern. It is also possible to cross them by taking the road that connects Tuchan and Padern.

Les gorges offrent un écrin de pierre et de verdure aux eaux fraiches et cristallines des rivières, véritable or bleu dans un pays marqué par la sécheresse estivale.

Les gorges de Termes

Juste sous le château de Termes, formant sa défense naturelle, les Gorges du Termenet constituent un site naturel spectaculaire et l’un des sites de canyoning les plus prisés de l’Aude.

Ces gorges peuvent être admirées depuis les hauteurs puis franchies en empruntant l’itinéraire pédestre « 1210, Termes, l’imprenable ».

Pratique :

  • Le parking des gorges du Termenet est payant.
  • Toilettes adaptées aux personnes à mobilité réduite.
  • Attention, le canyoning demande de l’engagement physique et comporte des risques. La Mairie de Termes tolère l’organisation de descentes accompagnées par des professionnels.
Gorges du Termenet
les gorges du termenet, termes

En amont, les gorges de Coyne Pont offrent également un cadre splendide à découvrir en parcourant la randonnée balisée du Roc Nitable.

les randonnées autour des gorges de Termes

Suivant

Pédestre

1210, Termes L’imprenable


Les Gorges de l’Orbieu

Entre Lanet et Montjoi, l’Orbieu ressemble à un ruisseau qui coule au fond de gorges encaissées. La petite route D212 permet d’en suivre le cours. Elle s’élargira ensuite pour devenir la belle rivière qui traverse Saint-Pierre-des-Champs puis Lagrasse et Ribaute où elle fait le bonheur des baigneurs.

Rivière Orbieu Plan d'eau Les Fargues Ribaute
l’orbieu à ribaute

Randonnées autour des gorges de l’Orbieu

Suivant

Pédestre

A Tire D’ailes

Suivant

Pédestre

L’alpage Des Corbières


Les gorges de Ripaud

A l’Est de Fontjoncouse, le ruisseau du Ripaud dessine des gorges remarquables en creusant les calcaires massifs du Jurassique. La route D123 longe le ruisseau et permet de découvrir ces gorges. L’itinéraire cyclotourisme « Défi des Terres Rouges » passe également à travers ces gorges.

Gorges

Les gorges du Congoust

A quelques kilomètres du village de Camplong d’Aude, Le cours sinueux du ruisseau des Mattes emprunte un défilé spectaculaire entre les montagnes de l’Alaric et de la Coque : les Gorges du Congoust (nommées par les romains co-angustum : passage étranglé). Le paysage présente une végétation contrastée : très aride sur le versant sud de l’Alaric, beaucoup plus boisée sur le versant de la Coque recouvert de taillis de chênes verts. Le parcours, encadré de falaises calcaires et de grands éboulis, est animé de cascades et de marmites rythmant le cours d’eau.

Le GR36 traverse les gorges du Congoust. D’un côté, on peut rejoindre Lagrasse en passant par Ribaute. De l’autre, rejoindre Montlaur en passant par les ruines de l’ancien prieuré de Saint Michel de Nahuze puis à proximité du Roc de l’Aigle qui domine la plaine.


Les gorges du Verdouble

Aux abords du village de Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse et de son célèbre château, après une petite escapade sur une route bordée de vignes, les gorges du Verdouble dites « Les Cascades » offrent un spectacle éblouissant dans un cadre pittoresque. L’eau s’y écoule par une succession de cascades, de marmites et de petits lacs naturels creusés dans le rocher. Un barrage, dont il subsiste les ancrages dans le rocher, alimentait autrefois le moulin à blé. Ce site bucolique est l’endroit idéal pour une baignade en rivière. Pour s’y rendre, empruntez depuis le village le sentier « le moulin de Ribaute ». Il est aussi accessible en voiture (parking payant en saison).


Les gorges du Torgan

Au pied de la montagne de Tauch, les gorges du Torgan relient Padern à Montgaillard puis Dernacueillette. La petite route qui suit la rivière peut être empruntée à vélo en suivant le circuit « Citadelles et Corbières sauvages » ou bien « Au royaume du sanglier ».


Le Grau de Padern

En aval du village de Padern, le Verdouble s’encaisse à nouveau pour traverser un chaînon de calcaire issu de la montagne de Tauch, créant du même coup un site avec de magnifiques gorges, qui abritèrent un moulin au Moyen Age et au XVIIIe siècle, une forge à la catalane pour le traitement du fer des Corbières. Vous pourrez admirer ces gorges en empruntant depuis le village, le sentier Le pas de la Goutine ou le GR 367 connu également sous le nom de Sentier Cathare, entre Tuchan et Padern. Il est aussi possible de les franchir en empruntant la route qui relie Tuchan et Padern.