A stone's throw from Duilhac-Sous-Peyrepertuse, a small village dominated by its impressive castle, is a haven of freshness: the lake and the Moulin de Ribaute waterfalls. Ideal for a swim after visiting this unmissable site in Cathar Country!

Swimming in the Verdouble gorges

About 1 km from the village of Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse, the Verdouble gorges offer a swimming place very popular in the summer: the lake and waterfalls of the Ribaute mill. You can cool off in the river or admire the waterfalls and the potholes by going up the path that runs along the gorges. In season, the swimming is supervised. Picnic tables are welcome for lunch in this bucolic setting.

Convenient !

  • The Moulin de Ribaute site is accessible by vehicle, bicycle or on foot.
  • paid parking (€ 7 per day, € 3 after 17 p.m.), WC.
  • Getting to the car park of the Moulin de Ribaute.

Walk to the Verdouble waterfalls

If you feel like it, you can go to the Verdouble waterfalls by taking the marked hiking trail of the Ribaute mill (4,9 km, 2h). The swimming break located 3/4 of the way will be even more appreciated!

A few ideas for keeping cool…


You may also like...

Next
Next

Museums, interpretation centers and collections

Achille Mir Audiovisual Space

A deux pas de Duilhac-Sous-Peyrepertuse, petit village dominé par l’impressionnant château de Peyrepertuse, se trouve un havre de fraicheur : le lac et les cascades du Moulin de Ribaute. Idéal pour une baignade après la visite de ce site incontournable du Pays Cathare !

Baignade dans les gorges du Verdouble

A 1 km environ du village de Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse, les gorges du Verdouble offrent un lieu de baignade très apprécié à la belle saison : le lac et les cascades du moulin de Ribaute. Vous pourrez vous rafraîchir dans la rivière ou admirer les cascades et les marmites en remontant le sentier qui longe les gorges. En saison, la baignade est surveillée. Les tables de pique-nique sont bienvenues pour un déjeuner dans ce cadre bucolique.

Infos pratiques !

Le site du Moulin de Ribaute est accessible en véhicule, à vélo, ou à pied.

parking payant (5 € par jour, 2 € après 17h), WC.

Balade vers les cascades du Verdouble

Si le cœur vous en dit, vous pourrez vous rendre aux cascades du Verdouble en empruntant le sentier de randonnée balisé du Moulin de Ribaute (4,9 km, 2h). La pause baignade située aux 3/4 du parcours n’en sera que plus appréciée !