Le Terms of castle overlooks from its promontory the stone houses of this small village of Hautes Corbières located in a wild valley, crossed by the river of Sou and by Termenet gorges.


A little history.

The family of Terms was one of the most powerful in Languedoc and protector of Catharisme. The castrum was also among the sites attacked by the Crusaders from the early days of the Albigensian Crusade. In 1210, Raimond de Termes resisted Simon de Montfort for three months. The lack of water would have overcome the resistance alone, when a providential storm replenishes the cisterns. Unfortunately, water proves to be the carrier of disease. It was one of the longest and most epic events of the Crusade. Terms was subsequently one of the "5 sons of Carcassonne"these strategic fortresses protecting the kingdom of France, today the subject of an application to UNESCO. The castle was destroyed in 1654. Today, it benefits from operations of excavations and restoration.

Convenient !

Leave your vehicle at free parking at the entrance to the village and win on foot the reception of the castle admiring the picturesque setting.

The reception of the Château is closed during the winter.

The visit of the castle.

A the reception of the castle, start your discovery with an exhibition and watching a short film. A chemin then takes you to the website of the castle, which you will visit with a illustrated support, which can also be viewed on your smartphone. Up there you will have a splendid panorama on gorges and surrounding landscape.

You can also download the application "Pays Cathare, Le Guide" and follow the augmented ride.
The youngest can discover the site while having fun thanks to the application "Castrum, the game".

practical information :

  • free parking in the village.
  • Dogs are accepted on the site (kept on a leash).
  • Bottle of water, hat / cap and shoes suitable for walking recommended.
  • toilets at the reception of the castle.

On the way to Unesco!

Terms is part of 7 castles who, alongside the Cité de Carcassonne took the path of the classification UNESCO World Heritage under "serial property". These citadels must prove their outstanding universal value and meet at least one of the ten selection criteria set by Unesco. To find out more, go to on the dedicated website !


Visiting the village.

After visiting the castle, you can stroll through the flowery alleys of the village. Push the door of church, open at the same times as the reception of the Château. It still has many elements of the Romanesque style.

After the walk, you can sit on the terrace to eat while enjoying the surroundings.

Canyoning in the gorges

Just under the castle of Termes, forming its natural defense, the Termenet gorges offer a spectacular natural site and one of the canyoning the most popular in Aude. Be careful, this sport requires physical commitment and involves risks. The Town Hall of Termes tolerates the organization of descents accompanied by professionals.

The Termenet gorges on the practical side:

  • There is a charge for the Termenet gorges car park.
  • Toilets (accessible to people with reduced mobility).

Hiking and mountain biking in Termes

Several options allow you to discover Termes and its surroundings on foot or by mountain bike. The marked route "Nitable Roc" leads for example to the gorges of Caune Pont. The one titled "1210, Terms the Impregnable" overlooks the Termenet gorges before crossing the Sou river a stone's throw from the Moulin de la Buade. The GR36 also goes through Terms. For mountain bikers, the route 14 "In the footsteps of Monks and Bonshommes" (black circuit, committed), allows you to discover the wild landscapes of these regions.


To extend the stay

To immerse yourself longer in this enchanting place, several possibilities ofaccommodation available to you. From the yurt by the river to Buade mill, on the farm surrounded by animals at the Bergerie du Prat de Mu, there is something for everyone to recharge their batteries in this unspoiled valley.

Le Château de Termes surplombe depuis son promontoire les maisons en pierre de ce petit village des Hautes Corbières situé dans une vallée sauvage, traversée par la rivière du Sou et par les Gorges du Termenet.


Un peu d’histoire.

La famille de Termes était l’une des plus puissantes du Languedoc et protectrice du Catharisme. Le castrum fut d’ailleurs parmi les sites attaqués par les Croisés dès les premiers temps de la Croisade albigeoise. En 1210, Raimond de Termes résiste à Simon de Montfort pendant trois mois. Le manque d’eau serait venu seul à bout de la résistance, quand un orage providentiel réalimente les citernes. Malheureusement, l’eau se révèle porteuse de maladies. Ce fut l’un des plus longs et des plus épiques événements de la Croisade. Termes fût par la suite l’un des « 5 fils de Carcassonne », ces forteresses stratégiques protégeant le royaume de France, aujourd’hui objets d’une candidature à l’UNESCO. Le château fut détruit en 1654. Aujourd’hui, il bénéficie d’opérations de fouilles et de restauration.

Pratique !

Laissez votre véhicule au parking gratuit à l’entrée du village et gagnez à pied l’accueil du château en admirant le cadre pittoresque.

La visite du château.

A l’accueil du château, commencez votre découverte par une exposition et par le visionnage d’un court métrage. Un chemin vous conduit ensuite sur le site du château, que vous visiterez muni d’un support illustré, qu’il est aussi possible de visualiser sur votre smartphone. Là-haut, vous aurez un panorama splendide sur les gorges et le paysage environnant.

Vous pouvez aussi télécharger l’application « Pays Cathare, Le Guide » et suivre la balade augmentée.
Les plus jeunes peuvent découvrir le site en s’amusant grâce à l’application « Castrum, le jeu ».

infos pratiques :

  • parking gratuit au village.
  • Les chiens sont acceptés sur le site (tenus en laisse).
  • Bouteille d’eau, chapeau/casquette et chaussures adaptées à la marche conseillées.
  • toilettes à l’accueil du château.

En route vers l’Unesco !

Termes fait partie des 7 châteaux qui, aux côtés de la Cité de Carcassonne ont pris le chemin du classement au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO au titre de « bien en série ». Ces citadelles doivent justifier de leur valeur universelle exceptionnelle et répondre à au moins un des dix critères de sélection fixés par l’Unesco. Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous sur le site dédié !


La visite du village.

Après avoir visité le château, vous pourrez vous promener dans les ruelles fleuries du village. Poussez la porte de l’église, ouverte aux mêmes horaires que l’accueil du Château. Elle possède encore de nombreux éléments de style roman.

Après la balade, vous pourrez vous installer en terrasse pour vous restaurer en profitant du cadre.

Canyoning dans les gorges

Juste sous le château de Termes, formant sa défense naturelle, les Gorges du Termenet proposent un site naturel spectaculaire et un des sites de canyoning les plus prisés de l’Aude. Attention ce sport demande de l’engagement physique et comporte des risques. La Mairie de Termes tolère l’organisation de descentes accompagnées par des professionnels.

Les gorges du Termenet côté pratique :

  • Le parking des gorges du Termenet est payant.
  • Toilettes (accessibles aux personnes à mobilités réduites).

Les randonnées à pied et à VTT à Termes

Plusieurs options permettent de découvrir Termes et ses environs à pied ou à VTT. L’itinéraire balisé « Nitable Roc » conduit par exemple jusqu’aux gorges de Caune Pont. Celui intitulé « 1210, Termes l’imprenable » surplombe les gorges du Termenet avant de franchir la rivière du Sou à deux pas du Moulin de la Buade. Le GR36 passe également par Termes. Pour les amateurs de VTT, le circuit 14 « Sur les traces des Moines et des Bonshommes » (circuit noir, engagé), permet de découvrir les paysages sauvages de ces contrées.


Pour prolonger le séjour

Pour vous immerger plus longtemps dans ce lieu enchanteur, plusieurs possibilités d’hébergement s’offrent à vous. De la yourte au bord de la rivière au Moulin de la Buade, à la ferme entourés d’animaux à la Bergerie du Prat de Mu, il y en a pour tous les goûts pour se ressourcer dans cette vallée préservée.