The Château de Villerouge-Termenès, site of the Pays Cathare, is anchored in the heart of this small village of Corbières located in the hollow of a wild valley. Its walls and crenellated towers make it an ideal representation of the medieval castle.

The visit begins before you have walked through the doors!

The village can be explored on foot, visitors are invited to leave their vehicle in the parking lot of the old cooperative cellar. Take your time to reach the doors of the castle because it is inseparable from this charming village and it would be a shame not to take the opportunity to stroll through its flowery alleys. A little game before reaching the entrance to the castle: try to find the coat of arms of Dagobert, visible on the facade of a house!

To know !

You can also download the application "Pays Cathare, le guide" et follow the commented walk around the castle.

For children and, download the application Castrum, the game so that they can discover this monument while having fun!

Visiting the Castle

La visit of Villerouge-Termenès castle will allow you to learn more about the history of Catharism, the castle and the village, but also about daily life in the Middle Ages. At the reception of the castle, a audioguide will be offered to you.

It is at the castle of Villerouge-Termenès, residence of the archbishops of Narbonne, that the last page of the Cathar tragedy. He saw the last hours of the last Cathar, Guilhem Belibaste who was burned alive there in 1321.

The route takes you from room to room towards the covered way where is offered a panoramic view on the roofs of the village and the surrounding countryside.


After the visit…

A meal in the old fashioned way.

Before or after visiting the castle, several options will allow you to eat. Stay in the theme and treat yourself to a meal in period dress to the Medieval rotisserie ! You will have the opportunity to taste the old-fashioned cuisine in a castle room. As in the Middle Ages, the plates are replaced by bread and we eat with the fingers. Children love it (and older ones too)!

A meal like in the old days at the restaurant "La Rôtisserie Medieval"

Sit on the terrace and enjoy the surroundings ...

You can also settle down Terrace for meal invigorating or some refreshments. You will thus taste the typical atmosphere of this small village of Corbières.

Cafes and restaurants in Villerouge-termenès

Next
Next

Bar Restaurant

The Tavern

Next

Restaurant

The Goblin Croque

Next

Restaurant

The Medieval Rotisserie

To complete the visit

To complete the visit, you can go for a walk in the footsteps of Bélibaste by following the marked hike "Batons la campagne". Also do some shopping for local products at the Spirits of the garrigue shop located in the old cooperative cellar.

accommodation and activities in Villrouge-Termenès

Next

The Cathar Aneries

Next

pedestrian

Batons The Campaign

Le Château de Villerouge-Termenès, site du Pays Cathare, est ancré au cœur de ce petit village des Corbières situé au creux d’un vallon sauvage. Ses murailles et ses tours crénelées en font une représentation idéale du château médiéval.

La visite commence avant d’avoir franchi les portes !

Le village se découvre à pied, les visiteurs sont invités à laisser leur véhicule sur le parking de l’ancienne cave coopérative. Prenez votre temps pour gagner les portes du château car celui-ci est indissociable de ce charmant village et il serait vraiment dommage de ne pas en profiter pour déambuler dans ses ruelles fleuries. Un petit jeu avant de rejoindre l’entrée du château : essayez de retrouver le blason de Dagobert, visible sur la façade d’une maison !

A savoir !

Vous pouvez aussi télécharger l’application « Pays Cathare, le guide » et suivre la balade commentée autour du château.

Pour les enfants, téléchargez l’application Castrum, le jeu pour qu’ils découvrent ce monument en s’amusant !

La visite du Château

La visite du château de Villerouge-Termenès vous permettra d’en savoir plus sur l’histoire du catharisme, du château et du village, mais aussi sur la vie quotidienne au moyen-âge. A l’accueil du château, un audioguide vous sera proposé.

C’est au château de Villerouge-Termenès, résidence des archevêques de Narbonne, que se tourna la dernière page de la tragédie cathare. Il a vu les ultimes heures du dernier Cathare, Guilhem Bélibaste qui y fut brûlé vif en 1321.

Le parcours vous conduit de salle en salle vers le chemin de ronde où s’offre une vue panoramique sur les toits du village et la campagne environnante.


Après la visite…

Un repas à la mode d’autrefois.

Avant ou après la visite du château, plusieurs options vous permettront de vous restaurer. Restez dans le thème et offrez-vous un repas en tenue d’époque à la Rôtisserie Médiévale ! Vous aurez l’occasion de goûter à la cuisine d’autrefois dans une salle du château. Comme au moyen-âge, les assiettes sont remplacées par du pain et on mange avec les doigts. Les enfants adorent (et les plus grands aussi) !

Un repas comme autrefois au restaurant « la Rôtisserie médiévale »

S’installer en terrasse et profiter du cadre…

Vous pourrez aussi vous installer en terrasse pour un repas revigorant ou quelques rafraichissements. Vous goûterez ainsi à l’ambiance typique de ce petit village des Corbières.

Cafés et restaurants à Villerouge-termenès

Suivant
Suivant

Bar-restaurant

La Taverne

Suivant

Restaurant

Le Croque Lutin

Suivant

Restaurant

La Rôtisserie Médiévale

Pour compléter la visite

Pour compléter la visite, vous pourrez aller vous balader sur les pas de Bélibaste en suivant la randonnée balisée « Bâtons la campagne ». Faites aussi quelques emplettes de produits locaux à la boutique Esprits de garrigue située dans l’ancienne cave coopérative.

hébergements et activités à Villrouge-Termenès

Suivant

Pédestre

Batons La Campagne