Distance: 10,1 km
Duration (average) : 03h00
Level: Easy
Elevation: 330 D +
1 opinions

Departure: LAGRASSE
boucle
Yellow PR
Start of the road leading to the abbey, near the Calvary. Look for the legendary imprint of the famous “Charlemagne's buttocks” and enjoy a few moments of tranquility near the chapel.

Walking

Your itinerary

LAGRASSE

IGN map reference (s): IGN 2446 West

1

Step 1

Take the red / white marked path located to the left of an ordeal sheltered under a pine tree. Rise above the village. We approach the cliff at the level of an isolated pinion pine directly above the cemetery. Remarkable view of the village. The path then enters a wood of pinion pines, Aleppo pines and cypresses. Shortly after, follow the northern edge, before arriving at a stony depression: the buttocks of Charlemagne.
2

Step 2

Go up the stony path then catch up with a ledge. We then cross a collapsed capitelle then a large cairn. Viewpoint over the Payrol valley or Chaudron valley, at the bottom of which the Alsou river winds. When you meet a path, turn left.
3

Step 3

Arrival at the main forest road. You can then return to Lagrasse by going down this track. To continue the route, turn right, to walk on the Lauza plateau, through the reforestation of the communal forest (cedars and pine nuts). about 250 m further on, leave the track to the right which joins the Alsou gorges. Continue on the track.
4

Step 4

At the crow's feet, choose the rightmost lane. Leave the red / white markings to follow the yellow markings and cross the plateau through holm oaks and pine forests.
5

Step 5

100 m after having passed the reforestation, a cairn on the right indicates the start of a small path leading through the pine forest. We walk on the slope of the Grand Bac. Ignore the fork to the left and dive under the foliage of pines and oaks to a track.
6

Step 6

A return trip to the right allows you to reach the chapel of Notre Dame du Carla. Don't forget to climb up to the cross above the chapel before returning to the track in the opposite direction. After 2 tight bends (viewpoints), we find the red / white markings on the track which slants to the left towards the east.
7

Step 7

Then turn right and cross a pleasant alley of cypress trees. Pass a covered well before arriving at the ruins of the Lauza forest house. View of the Corbières and the Pyrenees. Turn left and take the main track lined with cypresses, cedars, pines. Do not take into account the secondary paths and the crow's feet, take the track to go with in front, a view of the mountain of Alaric. At the sign “Forêt communale de Lagrasse”, continue on the forest road which goes down to the village. Ignore secondary routes. After crossing a capitelle, the track bends to the left. Viewpoint over the village and the abbey. Walk along some low walls and olive trees and come out on the tarmac road. Walk along the abbey and reach the village.

Please note, the fire risk is currently high and may lead to the closures of flowerbeds. Find out before you go to consulting the fire risk map for outdoor activities.
Fires strictly prohibited.
Do not smoke or throw cigarette ends into the environment. Fires are numerous and catastrophic in our region.
In case of fire or accident: give alert 18 or 112 from a cell phone.
Protect yourself from the sun and take enough water with you.
Avoid picking flowers and plants. Take away all your waste.
Close fences and keep dogs on a leash in pasture areas, villages and protected areas. Thank you and have a good walk!

Reviews

Claude Dussel The 21 July 2021
pity that the other tracks are not marked we do not really know where we are going very beautiful plateau the terminal indicating our lady of the carla lacks the kilometric distance beautiful walk to do with the family

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Distance : 10,1 km
Durée (moyenne) : 03h00
Niveau : Facile
Dénivelé : 330 D+
1 avis

Départ : LAGRASSE
boucle
Jaune PR
Départ de la route conduisant à l'abbaye, près du calvaire. Recherchez l’empreinte légendaire des fameuses « fesses de Charlemagne » et profitez de quelques instants de quiétude tout près de la chapelle.

À pied

Votre itinéraire

LAGRASSE

Référence(s) carte(s) IGN : IGN 2446 Ouest

1

Étape 1

Emprunter le sentier balisé rouge/blanc situé à gauche d’un calvaire abrité sous un pin. S’élever au -dessus du village. On se rapproche de la falaise au niveau d’un pin pignon isolé à l’aplomb du cimetière. Vue remarquable sur le village. Le chemin pénètre ensuite dans un bois de pins pignons, pins d’Alep et cyprès. Peu après, longer la bordure nord, avant d’arriver à une dépression caillouteuse : les fesses de Charlemagne.
2

Étape 2

Remonter le sentier caillouteux puis rattraper un replat. On croise alors une capitelle écroulée puis un grand cairn. Point de vue sur la combe Payrol ou combe du Chaudron, au fond de laquelle serpente la rivière l’Alsou. A la rencontre d’un chemin, prendre à gauche.
3

Étape 3

Arrivée à la route forestière principale. On peut alors revenir sur Lagrasse en descendant cette piste. Pour continuer l’itinéraire, prendre à droite, pour cheminer sur le plateau du Lauza, à travers les reboisements de la forêt communale (cèdres et pins pignons). environ 250 m plus loin, laisser à droite la piste qui rejoint les gorges de l’Alsou. Continuer sur la piste.
4

Étape 4

A la patte d’oie, choisissez la voie la plus à droite. On quitte le balisage rouge/blanc pour suivre le balisage jaune et on traverse le plateau à travers chênes verts et pinède.
5

Étape 5

100 m après avoir dépassé le reboisement, un cairn à droite indique le départ d’un petit sentier s’enfonçant à travers la pinède. On chemine sur le versant du Grand Bac. Ignorer la bifurcation à gauche et plonger sous la frondaison des pins et des chênes jusqu’à une piste.
6

Étape 6

Un aller/retour vers la droite permet d’atteindre la chapelle de Notre Dame du Carla. N’oubliez pas de grimper jusqu’à la croix au-dessus de la chapelle avant de reprendre la piste en sens inverse. Après 2 virages serrés (points de vues), on retrouve le balisage rouge/blanc sur la piste qui oblique à gauche vers l'est.
7

Étape 7

Tourner ensuite à droite et traverser une agréable allée de cyprès. Dépasser un puits couvert avant d’arriver aux ruines de la maison forestière du Lauza. Vue sur les Corbières et les Pyrénées. Prendre à gauche et emprunter la piste principale bordée de cyprès, de cèdres, de pins. Ne pas tenir compte des chemins secondaires et à la patte d’oie, reprendre la piste de l’aller avec en face, une vue sur la montagne d’Alaric. Au panneau “Forêt communale de Lagrasse”, continuer sur la route forestière qui descend vers le village. Ignorer les voies secondaires. Après avoir croisé une capitelle, la piste s’infléchit vers la gauche. Point de vue sur le village et l’abbaye. Longer quelques murets et oliviers et déboucher sur la route goudronnée. Longer l'abbaye et rejoindre le village.

Attention, le risque incendie est actuellement élevé et peut entrainer des fermetures de massifs. Renseignez-vous avant de partir en consultant la carte du risque incendie pour les activités de pleine nature.
Feux strictement interdits.
Ne fumez pas et ne jetez jamais de mégots dans la nature. Les incendies sont nombreux et catastrophiques dans notre région.
En cas d’incendie ou d’accident : donnez l’alerte 18 ou 112 à partir d’un portable.
Protégez-vous du soleil et emportez de l’eau en quantité suffisante.
Évitez la cueillette des fleurs et des plantes. Emportez tous vos déchets.
Refermez les clôtures et tenez les chiens en laisse dans les espaces de pâturages, les villages et les zones protégées. Merci et bonne promenade !

Avis

claude dussel Le 21 juillet 2021
dommage que les autres pistes ne sois pas balises on ne sais pas trop ou l on va très beau plateau la borne indiquant notre dame du carla manque la distance kilomètrique belle balade a faire en famille

Ajouter un avis

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *