The GR 78, chemin du Piedmont Pyrénéen, crosses the Hérault then the Aude from east to west before reaching the foothills of the mountains and finally Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port then Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle.

Brief presentation of the route

Reliant Montpellier à Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, GR® 78 “Path of Pyrenean Piedmont” is the extension of the Piedmon Wayt. This is "modeled" on an old pilgrimage route allowing pilgrims to Santiago to discover the Marian city (Lourdes). This route connects also the Mediterranean to Atlantic.

For the 6th edition of the competition My favorite GR, the GR®78 is at the top of the finalists!

To November 30, 2022, vote for the GR78 on the site mongr.fr !

GR78

For theFrench Agency of the Ways of Compostela, association in charge of the animation of the cultural property "Roads of Santiago de Compostela in France" inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List, the Way of the Piedmonts is a pilgrimage route, during the Way of Arles (GR 653, passing through St-Guilhem-le-Désert), which stretches at the foot of the last foothills of the Cévennes (the Black Mountain), then, from Carcassonne, plunges towards the Pyrenees in a logic of seeking passes passing.

The GR78 in Hérault

This is at Montpellier that the new GR78 begins but to date the Hérault part is marked out and fitted out only from Capestang, a pretty village on the banks of the Canal du Midi, built around the superb collegiate church of Saint-Etienne. You will then join theAude following the red and white GR markings and the signs indicating “GR78 Chemin du Piedmont Pyrénéen”.

Convenient !

While waiting for the development of the Montpellier-Béziers part, the ideal is to start from the Beziers train station and follow the Canal du Midi to Capestang (Euro Vélo 8 – Canal des 2 mers à Vélo signs). From bus (line 642) also connect Béziers station to Capestang.

Since the Narbonne train station, you have to walk to the Canal de la Robine then follow it to Argeliers via the Canal de Jonction then the Canal du Midi (follow the Euro Vélo 8 signs). To find the GR78 you will have to climb up to Mont Caramel before continuing towards Bize-Minervois. Bize-Minervois is also accessible by bus with the line 21 Citibus from Grand Narbonne from the Narbonne bus station, a stone's throw from the SNCF station.

The GR78 in Aude

This is at Bize Minervois that you will enter the Aude. It is also possible to come by bus from Narbonne station. The GR78 continues its way through the Minervois and joins the Canal du Midi at paraza.

Paraza, on the banks of the Canal du Midi

The GR78 follows the Canal du Midi and passes Roubia, Argens-Minervois before arriving at Homps. A stop at the House of Wines of Minervois will allow you to discover the wines of this appellation and to find tourist information at the harbor master's office.

A Homps, the GR78 leaves the canal and bypasses the Jouarres lake (round trip on a marked path to reach the beach and swim) before continuing on to Carcassonne (SNCF train station).

Le GR 78, chemin du Piémont Pyrénéen, traverse l’Hérault puis l’Aude d’est en ouest avant de rejoindre les contreforts des montagnes et enfin Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port puis Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle.

Brève présentation de l’itinéraire

Reliant Montpellier à Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, le GR® 78 « Chemin du Piémont Pyrénéen » est l’extension de la Voie du Piémont. Celle-ci est « calquée » sur une ancienne voie de pèlerinage permettant aux pèlerins de Saint-Jacques de découvrir la cité mariale (Lourdes). Cet itinéraire relie aussi la Méditerranée à l’Atlantique.

Pour la 6ème édition du concours Mon GR préféré, le GR®78 est en tête des finalistes !

Jusqu’au 30 novembre 2022, votez pour le GR78 sur le site mongr.fr !

GR78

Pour l’Agence Française des Chemins de Compostelle, association ayant en charge l’animation du Bien culturel « Chemins de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle en France » inscrit sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, la Voie des Piémonts est une voie de pèlerinage, pendant de la Voie d’Arles (GR 653, passant à St-Guilhem-le-Désert), qui s’étire aux pieds des derniers contreforts des Cévennes (la montagne Noire), puis, à partir de Carcassonne, plonge vers les Pyrénées dans une logique de recherche des cols de passage.

Le GR78 dans l’Hérault

C’est à Montpellier que débute le nouveau GR78 mais à ce jour la partie héraultaise n’est balisée et aménagée qu’à partir de Capestang, un joli village au bord du Canal du Midi, bâti autour de la superbe collégiale Saint-Etienne. Vous rejoindrez ensuite l’Aude en suivant le balisage rouge et blanc GR et les panneaux indiquant « GR78 Chemin du Piémont Pyrénéen ».

Pratique !

En attendant l’aménagement de la partie Montpellier-Béziers, l’idéal est de débuter de la gare de Béziers et de suivre le Canal du Midi jusqu’à Capestang (panneaux Euro Vélo 8 – Canal des 2 mers à Vélo). Des bus (ligne 642) relient aussi la gare de Béziers à Capestang.

Depuis la gare de Narbonne, il faut rejoindre à pied le Canal de la Robine puis le suivre jusqu’à Argeliers via le Canal de Jonction puis le Canal du Midi (suivre les panneaux Euro Vélo 8). Pour retrouver le GR78 il faudra grimper jusqu’au Mont Caramel avant de continuer vers Bize-Minervois. Bize-Minervois est aussi accessible en bus avec la ligne 21 Citibus du Grand Narbonne depuis la gare routière de Narbonne, à deux pas de la gare SNCF.

Le GR78 dans l’Aude

C’est à Bize-Minervois que vous entrerez dans l’Aude. Il est d’ailleurs possible de venir en bus depuis la gare de Narbonne. Le GR78 poursuit son chemin à travers le Minervois et rejoint le Canal du Midi à Paraza.

Paraza, au bord du Canal du Midi

Le GR78 suit le Canal du Midi et passe à Roubia, Argens-Minervois avant d’arriver à Homps. Une halte à la Maison des Vins du Minervois permettra de découvrir les crus de cette appellation et de trouver des informations touristique à la capitainerie.

A Homps, le GR78 quitte le canal et contourne le lac de Jouarres (aller-retour sur un chemin balisé pour rejoindre la plage et se baigner) avant de poursuivre son chemin vers Carcassonne (gare SNCF).