Cycling is ideal for exploring the Canal du Midi and letting yourself be won over by its peaceful atmosphere. Take your time, admire every detail of the landscape, taste the tranquility of the south… The small villages of Minervois are perfect for a break on the terrace or for a restful night.

The paths and small roads that border the Canal du Midi are an invitation to bike rides. It is also possible to go on a roaming trip following its peaceful course, either over its entirety, from the Atlantic to the Mediterranean, or over a more or less important section according to your desires.

Practical

The route of Canal des 2 mers by bike is a must for roaming vacations. To prepare for your stay, a site created by France Cycling Tourism lists all the useful services and services labeled Accueil Vélo. The application Canal du Midi also lists these services and allows them to be located during the journey.

On the equipment side, we recommend the use of mountain bikes (mountain bikes or hybrid bikes). From Carcassonne, the path, currently being developed, is still earth and sometimes not very rolling.

You can rent your bikes and all the necessary accessories at Languedoc MTB Evasion. Hugo will be happy to advise you on equipment and routes and can deliver the bikes to your place of stay.

Need advice?

A Homps, the teams of the Tourist Information Point of The House of the Port in Minervois, labeled Home Cycling, will be happy to advise you on this part of the route.

The wild Canal du Midi

In Minervois, the Canal du Midi is wild. Keep an eye out, many animal species live here. The path sometimes becomes a path. Here, we take the time to contemplate. It certainly takes more time than for more "rolling" stages, but the traveler is largely rewarded.

The southern charm of the small villages of the canal

In Minervois, the Canal du Midi is punctuated by small villages with southern charm : Homps, Argens-Minervois, Roubia, Paraza ... Staying in peace in one of these villages is perfect for taking a break while roaming. Guest rooms to comfortable lodgings welcome you with all the services for the bicycle traveler. The restaurant terraces allow you to rest while tasting the typical atmosphere of our small villages in the south. Wine lovers will be able to discover the vintages of Minervois at The House of Minervois wines or in areas Home Cycling.

Swimming break at Jouarres Lake

By bike, swimming is welcome to take a break! The Jouarres lake in Homps can be the subject of a walk along the Canal du Midi, departing from Roubia or Argens-Minervois for example. If the weather is cool, the place is also very pleasant for a simple picnic by the water.

Lac de Jouarres Homps

Swimming in Jouarres lake

Take a detour to LAKE OF JOUARRES a few minutes from Port of Homps.

Bike reception providers

Next
Next

Furniture

Les Garriguettes 2

Next

Bed and breakfast

Le Clos De La Massane

Next

Bed and breakfast

Bastide des Maels

Next

Bed and breakfast

At Les Brocs

Next

Group accommodation

The Frog's Penates

Le vélo est idéal pour découvrir le Canal du Midi et se laisser gagner par son ambiance paisible. Prenez votre temps, admirez chaque détail du paysage, goûtez à la tranquillité du sud… Les petits villages du Minervois sont parfaits pour une pause en terrasse où pour une nuit reposante.

Les chemins et les petites routes qui bordent le Canal du Midi sont une invitation à la balade à vélo. Il est aussi possible de partir en itinérance en suivant son cours paisible, soit sur sa totalité, de l’Atlantique à la Méditerranée, soit sur une section plus ou moins importante selon vos envies.

Côté pratique

L’itinéraire du Canal des 2 mers à Vélos est un incontournable des vacances en itinérance. Pour préparer son séjour, un site créé par France Vélo Tourisme recense tous les service utiles et les prestations labellisées Accueil Vélo. L’application Canal du Midi recense également ces services et permet de les localiser durant le parcours.

Côté équipement, nous recommandons l’usage de vélos tous terrains (VTT ou VTC). Depuis Carcassonne, le chemin, en cours d’aménagement, est encore en terre et parfois peu roulant.

Vous pourrez louer vos vélos et tous les accessoires nécessaires chez Mellow Vélos à Roubia, labellisé Accueil Vélo. Vincent et Sandra se feront un plaisir de vous conseiller sur le matériel et les itinéraires et pourront sur demande livrer les vélos sur votre lieu de séjour.

Besoin d’un conseil ?

A Homps, les équipes du Point d’Information Touristique de La Maison du Port en Minervois, labellisé Accueil Vélo, se feront un plaisir de vous conseiller sur cette partie de l’itinéraire.

Le Canal du Midi sauvage

En Minervois, le Canal du Midi est sauvage. Ouvrez l’œil, de nombreuses espèces animales vivent ici. Le chemin devient parfois sentier. Ici, on prend le temps de contempler. Il faut certes compter plus de temps que pour des étapes plus « roulantes » mais le voyageur est largement récompensé.

Le charme méridional des petits villages du canal

En Minervois, le Canal du Midi est ponctué de petits villages au charme méridional : Homps, Argens-Minervois, Roubia, Paraza… Séjourner au calme dans l’un de ces villages est parfait pour faire une pause lors d’une itinérance. Des chambres d’hôtes ou des gîtes confortables vous accueillent avec tous les services pour le voyageur à vélo. Les terrasses des restaurants permettent de se reposer en goûtant à l’ambiance typique de nos petits villages du sud. Les amateurs de vin pourront découvrir les crus du Minervois à La Maison des vins du Minervois ou dans les domaines Accueil Vélo.

Pause baignade au Lac de Jouarres

A vélo, la baignade est bienvenue pour faire une pause ! Le Lac de Jouarres à Homps peut faire l’objet d’une balade le long du Canal du Midi, au départ de Roubia ou d’Argens-Minervois par exemple. Si le temps est frais, le lieu est aussi très agréable pour un simple pique-nique au bord de l’eau.

Lac de Jouarres Homps

Baignade au lac de Jouarres

Faites un détour au LAC DE JOUARRES à quelques minutes du Port de Homps.