Distance: 31,31 km
Duration (average) : 03 hours
Level: Easy
Elevation: 451 D +
Departure: HOMPS
boucle
Blue MTB
Departure from the port. Crosses the villages of Homps, Tourouzelle, Castelnau d'Aude and Escales. Succession of small roads, paths and paths in the pine forests, along the Aude and in the vineyards. Varied circuit between plain and scrubland. This route allows you to discover the Minervois. From the heights of Tourouzelle (pine forest of Baden, hiking trails), you can observe the foothills of the Montagne Noire where the Minervois vineyards flourish in curves. By returning to Homps by the banks of Aude, you can cool off in the water of Lac de Jouarres. Circuit 10 Espace VTT-FFC To see: Homps: the cellar, also harbor master's office; the Jouarres Lake. Tourouzelle: the old village, the dry stone constructions (Baden pine forest). Castelnau: machicolated door, ruins of the castle. Stopovers: fortified tower. Wineries Viewpoints: Baden pine forest (cistern): view of the Montagne Noire. Between Castelnau and Escales, view of the Montbrun wind turbines.

By mountain bike

Ranking & labels

  • MTB-FFC sites
  • Vignobles et Découvertes

Your itinerary

HOMPS

IGN map reference (s): IGN 2445 East Lézignan-Cres, IGN 2445 West Peyriac Minervois

1

Step 1

Leave Homps via rue des Chevaliers, place Jean Moulin, rue de la République and rue des moulins. (1) Arriving at the D610 take the Chemin du Moulin opposite and continue towards the D611, (2) cross the bridge over the Aude and turn right onto the Tourouzelle road (D65) and 100 m after the junction (3) turn right after the Tuilerie property. The path runs along the Aude. The soil is sometimes red, revealing the presence of clay. Approaching Tourouzelle, outcrops of limestone rocks abound. (4) Arrival in Tourouzelle via rue des Moulins. Take avenue de Castelnau going up towards the village, then avenue de Lézignan and finally the small paved road on the right going up towards the pine forest of Baden (common route with the footpath). Many points of view on the plain and its villages decorate this climb towards Baden. (5) At the pass (cistern), take the track to the right and thus cross the pine forest. We find the D65 at the level of an ordeal. (6) Take the road to the left for 300 m then (7) turn right on the small road (common route with the footpath) which becomes a path, joining a grove of holm oaks. Do not forget to turn right on a small stony path which widens down towards l'Horte. (8) Continue to the left on the small asphalt road which goes right towards Paradise. We then leave the footpath to the right, to continue straight (1,250 km from l'Horte). The path joins the D 527. The Gaudière electrical plant is in front of us. (9) Take the D 527 to the right for 500 m then (10) turn left on the small asphalt road. We thus bypass the imposing mass of the factory. A crossroads of 4 roads appears, continue straight ahead. The road soon runs along the Aude. (11) Turn left on a very straight vineyard path which avoids a portion of the road. At the road, turn left and 120 m after the bridge, again to the left. Ascent to the village of Castelnau. Turn right, after the first houses of the subdivision, uphill towards the street “Derrière la Ville”. Go down the Calado de Périlhou towards the Carrefour Occitan and take the opposite direction towards the stadium, then towards the cemetery and (12) immediately after, on the left. The road climbs towards the pine forest of the grove. Arriving at the top of the climb, the road becomes a path, continue straight ahead and take a path overlooking a vineyard, initially ravine then stony. (13) At the crossroads, turn left. The path is still stony. We can see the Montbrun wind turbines on the right. At the top of a climb we find the tar and we arrive at Escales by the rue du Laouza. Take the avenue Bernard de Scalis to the left, pass in front of the town hall then the church and continue by the Tourouzelle road that you soon leave for that of (14) Sérame. This small road goes straight between 2 rows of plane trees and allows you to glimpse wealthy wine estates: Borde Neuve, La Bastide, St François in the distance. (15) After the domain of La Bastide (1 km 500 after) turn left on the small road which climbs towards Baden. The plain is dotted with many “Cabanots” of vines.

Be careful, the fire risk is often high, especially in summer, and can lead to flower bed closures. Find out before you go consulting the fire risk map for outdoor activities.
Fires strictly prohibited.
Do not smoke or throw cigarette ends into the environment. Fires are numerous and catastrophic in our region.
In case of fire or accident: give alert 18 or 112 from a cell phone.
Protect yourself from the sun and take enough water with you.
Avoid picking flowers and plants. Take away all your waste.
Close fences and keep dogs on a leash in pasture areas, villages and protected areas.

Mountain bike routes: the routes are often shared with hikers or other users (cars, tractors, etc.). Be careful and always anticipate that a pedestrian may be present around a bend to have time to brake if necessary. Pedestrians have priority in principle, slow down at crossings or stop if the configuration of the terrain requires you to do so.

Thank you and happy hiking!

Reviews

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Distance : 31,31 km
Durée (moyenne) : 03h15
Niveau : Facile
Dénivelé : 451 D+
Départ : HOMPS
boucle
VTT Bleu
Départ du port. Traverse les villages de Homps, Tourouzelle, Castelnau d'Aude et Escales. Succession de petites routes, de chemins et de sentes dans les pinèdes, le long de l’Aude et dans les vignes. Circuit varié entre plaine et garrigue. Ce parcours permet de découvrir le Minervois. Des hauteurs de Tourouzelle (pinède de la Bade, circuits pédestres), vous pourrez observer les contreforts de la Montagne Noire où le vignoble du Minervois s’épanouit tout en courbes. En rentrant à Homps par les bords d’Aude, vous pourrez vous rafraichir dans l’eau du Lac de Jouarres. Circuit 10 Espace VTT-FFC A voir : Homps : le chai, aussi capitainerie du port ; le Lac de Jouarres. Tourouzelle : le vieux village, les constructions de pierre sèche (pinède de la Bade). Castelnau : porte à mâchicoulis, ruines du château. Escales : tour fortifiée. Les domaines viticoles Points de vue : pinède de la Bade (citerne) : vue sur la Montagne Noire. Entre Castelnau et Escales, vue sur les éoliennes de Montbrun.

En VTT

Classement & labels

  • Sites VTT-FFC
  • Vignobles et Découvertes

Votre itinéraire

HOMPS

Référence(s) carte(s) IGN : IGN 2445 Est Lézignan-Cres, IGN 2445 Ouest Peyriac Minervois

1

Étape 1

Quitter Homps par la rue des Chevaliers, la place Jean Moulin, la rue de la République et la rue des moulins. (1) Arrivée à la D610 prendre en face le chemin du moulin et continuer en direction de la D611, (2) traverser le pont sur l’Aude et prendre à droite la route de Tourouzelle (D65) et 100 m après l’embranchement (3) tourner à droite après la propriété de la Tuilerie. Le chemin longe l’Aude. Le sol est parfois rouge, révélant la présence d’argile. En approchant de Tourouzelle, les affl eurements de roches calcaires abondent. (4) Arrivée à Tourouzelle par la rue des Moulins. Prendre l’avenue de Castelnau en remontant vers le village, puis l’avenue de Lézignan et enfin la petite route goudronnée sur la droite montant vers la pinède de la Bade(parcours commun avec le sentier pédestre). De nombreux points de vue sur la plaine et ses villages agrémentent cette montée vers la Bade. (5) Au col (citerne), prendre la piste à droite et traverser ainsi la pinède. On retrouve la D65 au niveau d’un calvaire. (6) Emprunter la route vers la gauche sur 300 m puis (7) tourner à droite sur la petite route (parcours commun avec le sentier pédestre) qui devient chemin en rejoignant un bosquet de chênes verts. Ne pas oublier de tourner à droite sur une petite sente caillouteuse qui s’élargit en descendant vers l’Horte. (8) Poursuivre vers la gauche sur la petite route goudronnée qui fi le droit vers le Paradis. On laisse alors le sentier pédestre à droite, pour continuer tout droit (1,250 km depuis l’Horte). Le chemin rejoint la D 527. L’usine électrique de la Gaudière est en face de nous. (9) Prendre la D 527 vers la droite sur 500 m puis (10) tourner à gauche sur la petite route goudronnée. On contourne ainsi l’imposante masse de l’usine. Un carrefour de 4 routes se présente, continuer tout droit en face. La route longe bientôt l’Aude. (11)Tourner à gauche sur un chemin de vignes très droit qui permet d’éviter une portion de route. A la route, tourner à gauche et 120 m après le pont, encore à gauche. Montée vers le village de Castelnau. Prendre à droite, après les premières maisons du lotissement, en montée vers la rue “Derrière la Ville”. Descendre par la Calado de Périlhou vers le Carrefour Occitan et prendre en face en direction du stade, puis vers le cimetière et (12) immédiatement après, à gauche. La route monte vers la pinède du bosquet. Arrivée en haut de la montée, la route devient chemin, poursuivre tout droit et prendre un chemin surplombant une vigne, au départ raviné puis empierré. (13) Au croisement prendre à gauche. Le chemin est toujours empierré. On aperçoit sur la droite les éoliennes de Montbrun. En haut d’une montée on retrouve le goudron et on arrive à Escales par la rue du Laouza. Prendre l’avenue Bernard de Scalis vers la gauche, passer devant la mairie puis l’église et poursuivre par la route de Tourouzelle que l’on quitte bientôt pour celle de (14) Sérame. Cette petite route file tout droit entre 2 rangées de platanes et permet d’entrevoir des domaines viticoles cossus : Borde Neuve, La Bastide, St François dans le lointain. (15) Après le domaine de La Bastide (1 km 500 après) tourner à gauche sur la petite route qui grimpe vers la Bade. La plaine est parsemée de nombreux “Cabanots” de vigne. 2 km plus loin, arrivée sur la D65, la prendre à droite puis au calvaire, reprendre l’itinéraire de l’aller vers la Bade, Tourouzelle puis Homps.

Attention, le risque incendie est actuellement élevé et peut entrainer des fermetures de massifs. Renseignez-vous avant de partir en consultant la carte du risque incendie pour les activités de pleine nature.
Feux strictement interdits.
Ne fumez pas et ne jetez jamais de mégots dans la nature. Les incendies sont nombreux et catastrophiques dans notre région.
En cas d’incendie ou d’accident : donnez l’alerte 18 ou 112 à partir d’un portable.
Protégez-vous du soleil et emportez de l’eau en quantité suffisante.
Évitez la cueillette des fleurs et des plantes. Emportez tous vos déchets.
Refermez les clôtures et tenez les chiens en laisse dans les espaces de pâturages, les villages et les zones protégées. Merci et bonne promenade !

Avis

Ajouter un avis

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *