Distance: 31,9 km
Duration (average) : 09 p.m.
Level: Medium
Elevation: 1394 D +
Departure: RIBAUTE
White and red GR
Traveling from Normandy to Spain, the GR® 36 crosses the Aude right through, from north to south. Cool shades of the Canal du Midi, the medieval city of Carcassonne, the wild massif of Corbières and Hautes-Corbières, proud remains of the castles of the Cathar Country ... The route of this route allows you to discover an infinite palette of landscapes, grandiose panoramas, a wild and unspoiled nature, flora of exceptional richness. The GR 36: information from the Departmental Hiking Committee 04 68 47 69 26

Walking

Your itinerary

RIBAUTE

IGN map reference (s): IGN 2446 West Capendu, IGN 2447 West

1

Step 1

Go down the rue de la Gare to the right then to the left rue de l'Orbieu for about 50 meters (a round trip to rue de l'Orbieu (GR36) allows access to the Pont Vieux spanning the river and the giant pots, real natural pools carved into the rocky bed. In front of the bridge, vestiges of fortifications; in the cobbled street, door from the 212th century). Go up the rue de l'Abeille on the left. Cross the D212 to climb stairs. Turn left on rue J.-Latissien then right on chemin des Planels. Follow this road to Lagrasse. At the D3, continue to the left. At the D36, walk along the esplanade to the right in the direction of Carcassonne, take the rue du Consulat on the left and the rue des Deux Ponts on the right. Cross the Pont Vieux and turn right. (Junction with the GR XNUMX variant coming from Montlaur.)
2

Step 2

Climb an embankment on the left to climb the hillside in a bend in the Orbieu. Quickly dominate the village (Point of view: The site is remarkable both for its location and its vegetation of umbrella pines, Scots pines and especially cypresses). Go up to the right on a stony track. Go straight ahead in front of a capitelle. After a small pass (Viewpoint: View on the right on the Combe Chaudron and the meanders of the Sou. On the left, Orbieu valley), turn left, then right. Approximately 100 m further on, ignore a path on the right and reach a crossroads.
3

Step 3

Take the second path on the right (the first going to the Chapel of Our Lady of Carla) to cross the wood of Lauza. At the fork, go right. Follow a beautiful alley of cypresses and pines to arrive at Lauza (309 m). (-Take the GR36A: Le Lauza - Saint Pierre des Champs - Villerouge-Termenès)
4

Step 4

Descend from Lauza, taking a left twice. At the first crossroads, go opposite and, at the second, turn left to cross the ruins of Clamendaigues. Walk on a balcony above the Madourneille valley. The descent takes a final steep path to find itself in the vineyards. Turn left then right to join the D 41 (150 m).
5

Step 5

Go left, then cross the bridge to the right towards the Château Saint Auriol. About 250 m further on, in a hairpin bend, leave the road to the left for a forest track which goes up through the pines. At the crossroads, take the second path on the right to bypass the Saint Auriol estate. Leave a path on the right and continue on this tarmac road to the bridge over the Orbieu; Cross it and, turning left, go up to the D 212 at the entrance to Saint Pierre des Champs (160 m).
6

Step 6

(In Saint Pierre des Champs Viewpoint: Formerly fortified, the village is dominated by its castle. It was a stopover on the Roman road which crossed the Corbières. It was a possession of the Abbey of Lagrasse). Climb opposite by rue du Château (Viewpoint: on the left, ruins of the Castle and medieval street), then by rue des Pins, on the right. At the top of the hill, go up to the right above the village (Viewpoint: Panorama over the valley). Ignore the hamlet of Joffres on the right then a path on the left.
7

Step 7

Turn right: the track runs along the western side of Mont Rode. Ignore access to Soulane and continue. Further on, turn right then straight ahead. Continue to climb, turning left three times. Reach a crossroads.
8

Step 8

Climb to the right by the wide middle path. This very steep climb leads to the Mont Major belvedere (541 m) (Point of view: 360 ° view of Mont Tauch, the Burgarach pech and the Pyrenees range).
9

Step 9

The path winds its way to the left, then descends, steeply. Always walk on a balcony following the crest of the Serre de Blanès (Viewpoint: Exceptional panorama). Descending south-east, pass near the Chapel of Saint Martin des Auzines going straight ahead. The path turns to the right southwest and joins a forest track; go down to the left.
10

Step 10

At the T-junction, go right towards the village, ignoring the paths on either side. Pass thus at the foot of ruined mills (323th century). An old path lined with low walls leads to Villerouge -Termenès. Go down Carriera dels Molins to the left, then Carriera Blanca (Viewpoint: Porch and old street). Follow the banks of the Lou to the castle. Cross the bridge and turn right to reach the town hall (36 m) and the medieval garden. (Link from Villerouge-Termenès to Termes to find the GR 36 which continues towards Mouthoumet, then Peyrepertuse.) (GRXNUMX A from Villerouge-Termenès to Palairac, then the Col de Férréol.)
11

Step 11

From the town hall, follow the Camin de la Bassa and, at the crossroads, continue straight ahead, leaving the path towards Palairac. Turn right and, 50 m further on, go up to the left by a grassy path overlooking a field for 80 m. At the end, turn right to go up to the Pech Rigaud. Walk among the junipers, holm oaks and boxwoods. Become very narrow, the path is in balcony above the valley. Go back down to come out on a track. Cross a stream on the left and reach a small chapel.
12

Step 12

Continue on the main road: cross the stream again and ignore a path on the right. The route winds its way through a deep valley on the right bank of the stream. After two fording and before the ruins of an old sheepfold, descend to the right, then to the left 50 m further on to reach the Libre dam.
13

Step 13

Ford to engage in front in a steep climb and switchbacks in the undergrowth. Join a track. Go up it to the right (Viewpoint: Clape de Villerouge cliff); ignore a path to the right, then fork to the right to enter the state forests of Villerouge and Termes and walk along the contours of the massif (Viewpoint: View of the Libre valley and the hamlet of Creuilhe). Cross several streams. A slightly steep climb and a descent lead to a crossroads. Go up to the left to join the D 40; Take it on the right for 300 m. (Except GR: for Creuilhe 3 km 45 min go down on the right by the track)
14

Step 14

In a bend, leave the departmental road to follow a wide path in the undergrowth opposite. At the cross, continue straight on (Viewpoint: View of the Château de Termes). At the ford, leave this path again to the right to descend on a narrow path buried in the undergrowth. (Junction with the GR 36 coming from Mayronnes.)
15

Step 15

Continue the descent towards Termes by a sunken lane. Follow the alleys on the hillside, pass to the left in front of the church and gain the D 40. End of stage 1.

Be careful, the fire risk is often high, especially in summer, and can lead to flower bed closures. Find out before you go consulting the fire risk map for outdoor activities.
Fires strictly prohibited. Do not smoke and never throw cigarette butts in nature. Fires are numerous and catastrophic in our region. In the event of a fire or accident: give alert 18 or 112 from a cell phone.
Protect yourself from the sun and take enough water with you.
Avoid picking flowers and plants. Take all your trash. Close fences and keep dogs on a leash in pasture areas, villages and protected areas.

Mountain bike routes: the routes are often shared with hikers or other users (cars, tractors, etc.). Be careful and always anticipate that a pedestrian may be present around a bend to have time to brake if necessary. Pedestrians have priority in principle, slow down at crossings or stop if the configuration of the terrain requires you to do so.
Thank you and happy hiking!

Reviews

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Distance : 30,5 km
Durée (moyenne) : 10h00
Niveau : Moyen
Dénivelé : 1394 D+
Départ : RIBAUTE
Blanc et rouge GR
Départ place de l’Ancienne Gare (RIBAUTE) Cheminant de la Normandie à l'Espagne, le GR® 36 traverse l'Aude de part en part, du nord au sud. Frais ombrages du Canal du Midi, Cité médiévale de Carcassonne, massif sauvage des Corbières et Hautes-Corbières, fiers vestiges des châteaux du Pays Cathare... Le parcours de cet itinéraire permet de découvrir une palette infinie de paysages, des panoramas grandioses, une nature sauvage et préservée, une flore d'une richesse exceptionnelle. Le GR 36 : renseignement Comité Départemental Randonnée Pédestre 04 68 47 69 26

À pied

Votre itinéraire

RIBAUTE

Référence(s) carte(s) IGN : IGN 2446 Ouest Capendu, IGN 2447 Ouest

1

Étape 1

2

Étape 2

Descendre à droite la rue de la Gare puis à gauche la rue de l’Orbieu sur environ 50 mètres (un aller / retour rue de l’Orbieu (GR36) permet d’accéder au Pont Vieux enjambant la rivière et aux marmites géantes, véritables piscines naturelles creusées dans le lit rocheux. En face du pont, vestiges de fortifications ; dans la rue pavée, porte du XIIe siècle). Monter à gauche la rue de l’Abeille. Traverser la D212 pour gravir des escaliers. Tourner à gauche dans la rue J.-Latissien puis à droite sur le chemin des Planels. Suivre cette route jusqu’à Lagrasse. A la D212, continuer à gauche. A la D3, longer l’esplanade à droite en direction de Carcassonne, emprunter à gauche la rue du Consulat et à droite la rue des Deux Ponts. Traverser le Pont Vieux et tourner à droite. (Jonction avec la variante du GR 36 venant de Montlaur.)
3

Étape 3

Escalader à gauche un talus pour monter à flanc de coteau dans un méandre de l'Orbieu. Dominer rapidement le village (Point de vue : Le site est remarquable tant par sa situation que par sa végétation de pins parasols, pins sylvestres et surtout cyprès). Remonter à droite sur une piste caillouteuse. Passer tout droit devant une capitelle. Après un petit col (Point de vue : Vue à droite sur la Combe Chaudron et les méandres du Sou. A gauche, vallée de l'Orbieu), tourner à gauche, puis à droite. Environ, 100 m plus loin, ignorer un chemin à droite et gagner une croisée de chemins.
4

Étape 4

Emprunter le deuxième chemin à droite (le premier allant à la Chapelle de Notre Dame du Carla) pour traverser le bois du Lauza. A la fourche, aller à droite. Suivre une belle allée de cyprès et de pins pour arriver au Lauza (309 m). (-Bifurquer sur le GR36A : Le Lauza - Saint Pierre des Champs – Villerouge-Termenès)
5

Étape 5

Descendre du Lauza en prenant deux fois à gauche. Au premier carrefour, aller en face et, au second, prendre à gauche pour traverser les ruines de Clamendaigues. Cheminer en balcon au-dessus de la vallée de la Madourneille. La descente emprunte un dernier raidillon pour se retrouver dans les vignes. Obliquer à gauche puis à droite pour rejoindre la D 41 (150 m).
6

Étape 6

Aller à gauche, puis franchir le pont à droite vers le Château Saint Auriol. Environ 250 m plus loin, dans un virage en épingle, quitter la route à gauche pour une piste forestière qui remonte dans les pins. Au croisement, prendre le deuxième chemin à droite pour contourner le domaine de Saint Auriol. Laisser un chemin à droite et poursuivre sur cette voie goudronnée jusqu'au pont sur l'Orbieu ; le franchir et, prenant à gauche remonter à la D 212 à l'entrée de Saint Pierre des Champs (160 m).
7

Étape 7

(A Saint Pierre des Champs Point de vue : Anciennement fortifié, le village est dominé par son château. C'était une halte sur la voie romaine qui traversait les Corbières. Ce fut une possession de l'Abbaye de Lagrasse). Grimper en face par la rue du Château (Point de vue : sur la gauche, ruines du Château et rue médiévale), puis par la rue des Pins, à droite. En haut de la côte, monter à droite au-dessus du village (Point de vue : Panorama sur la vallée). Ignorer le hameau des Joffres à droite puis un chemin à gauche.
8

Étape 8

S'engager à droite: la piste parcourt le flanc ouest du Mont Rode. Ignorer l'accès à la Soulane et continuer. Plus loin, prendre à droite puis tout droit. Continuer de monter en prenant à gauche trois fois. Atteindre un carrefour.
9

Étape 9

Grimper à droite par le large chemin du milieu. Par cette montée très raide, déboucher sur le belvédère du Mont Major (541 m) (Point de vue : Vue à 360° sur le Mont Tauch, le pech de Burgarach et la chaine des Pyrénées).
10

Étape 10

Le sentier se faufile sur la gauche, puis descend, pentu. Cheminer toujours en balcon en suivant la crête de la Serre de Blanès (Point de vue : Panorama exceptionnel). Descendant sud-est, passer près de la Chapelle de Saint Martin des Auzines en filant tout droit. Le sentier s'oriente à droite sud-ouest et rejoint une piste forestière ; la descendre à gauche.
11

Étape 11

Au carrefour en T, s'avancer à droite vers le village en ignorant les chemins de part et d'autre. Passer ainsi au pied de moulins en ruines (XVIIe siècle). Un ancien chemin bordé de murettes mène à Villerouge -Termenès. Descendre à gauche la Carriera dels Molins, puis la Carriera Blanca (Point de vue : Porche et rue ancienne). Suivre les bords du Lou jusqu'au château. Franchir le pont et tourner à droite pour gagner la mairie (323 m) et le jardin médiéval. (Liaison de Villerouge-Termenès à Termes pour retrouver le GR 36 qui continue vers Mouthoumet, puis Peyrepertuse.) (GR36 A de Villerouge-Termenès à Palairac, puis le col de Férréol.)
12

Étape 12

De la mairie, suivre le Camin de la Bassa et, au croisement, poursuivre tout droit, laissant le chemin vers Palairac. Prendre à droite et, 50 m plus loin, monter à gauche par un sentier herbeux en surplomb d'un champ sur 80 m. Au bout, tourner à droite pour monter sur le Pech Rigaud. Cheminer parmi les genévriers, les chênes verts et les buis. Devenu très étroit, le sentier est en balcon au-dessus de la vallée. Redescendre pour déboucher sur une piste. Traverser un ruisseau à gauche et gagner une petite chapelle.
13

Étape 13

Poursuivre sur la voie principale : retraverser le ruisseau et laisser un chemin à droite. L'itinéraire se faufile dans un vallon encaissé rive droite du ruisseau. Après deux passages à gué et avant les ruines d'une ancienne bergerie, descendre à droite, puis à gauche 50 m plus loin pour atteindre le barrage du Libre.
14

Étape 14

Traverser à gué pour s'engager en face dans une montée raide et en lacets en sous-bois. Rejoindre une piste. La remonter à droite (Point de vue : Falaise de la Clape de Villerouge) ; ignorer un chemin à droite, puis bifurquer à droite pour pénétrer dans les forêts domaniales de Villerouge et de Termes et cheminer en suivant les contours du massif (Point de vue : Vue sur la vallée du Libre et le hameau de Creuilhe). Traverser plusieurs ruisseaux. Une montée un peu raide et une descente débouchent sur un croisement. Remonter à gauche pour rejoindre la D 40 ; l'emprunter à droite sur 300 m. (Hors GR : pour Creuilhe 3 km 45 min Descendre à droite par la piste)
15

Étape 15

Dans un virage, quitter la départementale pour suivre en face un large chemin en sous-bois. A la croix, poursuivre tout droit (Point de vue : Vue sur le Château de Termes). Au gué, quitter ce chemin encore à droite pour descendre sur un étroit sentier enfoui dans la broussaille. (Jonction avec le GR 36 venant de Mayronnes.)
16

Étape 16

Continuer la descente vers Termes par un chemin creux. Suivre les ruelles à flanc de colline, passer à gauche devant l'église et gagner la D 40. Fin étape 1.

Attention, le risque incendie est actuellement élevé et peut entrainer des fermetures de massifs. Renseignez-vous avant de partir en consultant la carte du risque incendie pour les activités de pleine nature.
Feux strictement interdits.
Ne fumez pas et ne jetez jamais de mégots dans la nature. Les incendies sont nombreux et catastrophiques dans notre région.
En cas d’incendie ou d’accident : donnez l’alerte 18 ou 112 à partir d’un portable.
Protégez-vous du soleil et emportez de l’eau en quantité suffisante.
Évitez la cueillette des fleurs et des plantes. Emportez tous vos déchets.
Refermez les clôtures et tenez les chiens en laisse dans les espaces de pâturages, les villages et les zones protégées. Merci et bonne promenade !

Avis

Ajouter un avis

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *