Distance: 5,6 km
Duration (average) : 02h30 (UTC -XNUMX:XNUMX)
Level: Medium
Elevation: 323 D +
3 reviews

Departure: AURIAC
boucle
Yellow PR
All that glitters is not gold! In the shadow of the castle of Auriac la Petite Vadrouille makes you discover the nuggets of its Territory: Ores, fauna, flora ...

Walking

Your itinerary

AURIAC

IGN map reference (s): IGN 2347 East Arques

1

Step 1

From the car park, head south and take a path on the right, slightly uphill, in the scrubland. It runs along old mines.
2

Step 2

(cairn 1) Three hundred meters from the village on the north-eastern slope of Mont-Marcus in the middle of copses and holm oaks, the medieval mine of Gassotte known as the “Mont-Marcus” mine has been known since the Gallo period. Roman. In activity from the Middle Ages until the beginning of the XNUMXth century, barite, copper and silver were extracted from it. The ore sold at the Salsigne mine was processed there.
3

Step 3

(cairn 2) According to engineer Vène, the disaffection of this mine (alt. 598 m) and the abandonment of the work would be due more to a lack of technical knowledge of the operator than to an absence of capital. In fact the veins very quickly became unusable.
4

Step 4

The path follows the contour line in the tranquility of the undergrowth (cairn 3). By listening and observing we can surprise the fauna of the place. Ash and beech, Scots pines, holm oaks: we are here in the favorite biotope of wild boars.
5

Step 5

Outlet (alt. 603 m) on the small road to Espéout; Take it uphill to the right and take the small path opposite (due east) at the level of the median. Go up to the Peyrièro greenhouse (alt. 695 m). In spring this area is dotted with orchids (protected, not to be picked). (cairn 4) On this site we find barite (natural barium sulphate) which we exploited on the Mieloubret until the 50s. Go down to an intersection.
6

Step 6

To turn left. Slowly descend to the small road. Turn left down towards the old Lauradieu mine. (cairn 5) “In Laurio, there is Gold. To Lauradieu, the farewell Gold ”. Legends are attached to the supposed precious metal from this mine. But it was copper and silver that were mined there until 1854. A prehistoric gold ring is said to have been found in a nearby cave. Leave the small road and go towards the Lauradieu buildings on the right.
7

Step 7

Go straight up to the left on the small steep path, on the side of the rock. It overlooks gorges. We can already make out the castle in the distance. Before arriving at the Laurio stream, you cross a wasteland dotted with heather and some wild fruit trees. (cairn 6) Gold has always been the dream of men, but no vein has ever been found in Auriac. It is nevertheless there, in the form of flakes mixed with alluvium from streams, in quartz or in other minerals. The toponymy of watercourses attests: Laurio, Lauriol, Orbieu. Hazel trees, ash trees, dogwoods gently lean over the banks of the Laurio where in spring grows wild lily of the valley. Arrival in the village. On the right, the tarred path climbs towards the castle. (cairn 7) Since the 212th and the beginning of the XNUMXth century, it has guarded the southern entrance to Termenès, between the Orbieu and Verdouble valleys. The towers, main building (XNUMXth century) bear witness to a “castle life” contrasting with the poverty of the town which has never been very populated. This luxury is undoubtedly due to the income of the mines. On the left: you join the D XNUMX.

Be careful, the fire risk is often high, especially in summer, and can lead to flower bed closures. Find out before you go consulting the fire risk map for outdoor activities.
Fires strictly prohibited.
Do not smoke or throw cigarette ends into the environment. Fires are numerous and catastrophic in our region.
In case of fire or accident: give alert 18 or 112 from a cell phone.
Protect yourself from the sun and take enough water with you.
Avoid picking flowers and plants. Take away all your waste.
Close fences and keep dogs on a leash in pasture areas, villages and protected areas.

Mountain bike routes: the routes are often shared with hikers or other users (cars, tractors, etc.). Be careful and always anticipate that a pedestrian may be present around a bend to have time to brake if necessary. Pedestrians have priority in principle, slow down at crossings or stop if the configuration of the terrain requires you to do so.

Thank you and happy hiking!

Reviews

Anick 4st June 2022
A superb walk: views, magnificent flora in the month of June, birdsong in the undergrowth... Highly recommended! and to do again
Paul The 11 October 2021

Totally agree with François Alain's comment. Very nice walk.
Francois Alain The 29 July 2021
Remarkable site, very well marked route, with some difficulties noted. Discovery of an environment still preserved and simply magnificent as much as soothing. Beware of the dog at the Chateau refreshment bar, however ... somewhat aggressive, especially towards his fellows.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Distance : 5,6 km
Durée (moyenne) : 02h30
Niveau : Moyen
Dénivelé : 323 D+
Départ : AURIAC
boucle
Jaune PR
Tout ce qui brille n’est pas d’or ! A l’ombre du château d’Auriac la Petite Vadrouille vous fait découvrir les pépites de son Territoire : Minerais, faune, flore…

À pied

Votre itinéraire

AURIAC

Référence(s) carte(s) IGN : IGN 2347 Est Arques

1

Étape 1

Du parking, se diriger vers le sud et prendre un chemin à droite en légère montée, dans la garrigue. Il longe d’anciennes mines.
2

Étape 2

(cairn 1) A trois cents mètres du village sur le versant nord-est du Mont-Marcus au milieu des taillis et chênes-verts, la mine médiévale de la Gassotte dite mine de “Mont-Marcus” est connue depuis la période gallo-romaine. En activité du Moyen-âge jusqu’au début du Xxème siècle, on en extrayait de la baryte, du cuivre et de l’argent. Le minerai vendu à la mine de Salsigne y était traité.
3

Étape 3

(cairn 2) D’après l’ingénieur Vène, la désaffection de cette mine (alt.598 m) et l’abandon des travaux seraient dûs plus à un manque de connaissances techniques de l’exploitant qu’à une absence de capitaux. De fait les filons devinrent très vite inexploitables.
4

Étape 4

Le chemin suit la courbe de niveau dans la tranquillité du sous-bois (cairn 3). En prêtant l’oreille et en observant on peut surprendre la faune du lieu. Frênes et hêtres, pins sylvestres, chênes verts : nous sommes ici dans le biotope préféré des sangliers.
5

Étape 5

Débouché (alt. 603 m) sur la petite route d’Espéout ; La prendre en montée vers la droite et s’engager sur le petit chemin en face (plein est) au niveau du terre-plein. Monter vers la serre de Peyrièro (alt.695 m). Au printemps cette zone est parsemée d’orchidées (protégées, à ne pas cueillir). (cairn 4) On trouve sur ce site de la barytine (sulfate de baryum naturel) que l’on exploitait sur le Mieloubret jusque dans les années 50. Descendre jusqu’à une intersection.
6

Étape 6

Prendre à gauche. Descendre doucement jusqu’à la petite route. Tourner à gauche descendre vers l’ancienne mine de Lauradieu. (cairn 5) “A Laurio, l’Or il y a. A Lauradieu, l’Or adieu”. Des légendes sont attachées au métal précieux supposé de cette mine. Mais ce sont le cuivre et l’argent qui y ont été exploités jusqu’en 1854. Un anneau d’or préhistorique aurait été trouvé dans une grotte proche. Quitter la petite route et s’engager vers les bâtiments de Lauradieu à droite.
7

Étape 7

Monter de suite à gauche sur le petit chemin escarpé, à flanc de roche. Il surplombe des gorges. On distingue déjà le château au loin. Avant d’arriver au ruisseau du Laurio, on traverse une friche piquée de bruyère et de quelques fruitiers sauvages. (cairn 6) L’or a toujours fait rêver les hommes mais jamais aucun filon n’a été trouvé à Auriac. Il est néanmoins bien là, sous forme de paillettes mélangées aux alluvions des ruisseaux, dans le quartz ou dans d’autres minerais. La toponymie des cours d’eau l’atteste : Laurio, Lauriol, Orbieu. Noisetiers, frênes, cornouillers se penchent doucement sur les berges du Laurio où au printemps pousse le muguet sauvage. Arrivée au village. A droite, le chemin goudronné monte vers le château. (cairn 7) Depuis le Xème et le début du XIème siècle, il garde l’entrée méridionale du Termenès, entre la vallée de l’Orbieu et celle du Verdouble. Les tours, corps de logis (XIVème siècle) témoignent d’une « vie de château» contrastant avec la pauvreté de la commune qui n’a jamais été très peuplée. Ce luxe est sans doute imputable au revenu des mines. A gauche : on rejoint la D 212.

Renseignez-vous sur le risque incendie en consultant la carte du risque d’incendie pour les activités de pleine nature https://www.risque-prevention-incendie.fr/aude/.
Feux strictement interdits.
Ne fumez pas.
Les incendies sont nombreux et catastrophiques dans notre région. En cas d’incendie ou d’accident : donnez l’alerte 18 ou 112 à partir d’un portable.
Protégez-vous du soleil et emportez de l’eau en quantité suffisante.
Evitez la cueillette des fleurs et des plantes. Emportez tous vos déchets.
Refermez les clôtures et tenez les chiens en laisse dans les espaces de pâturages, les villages et les zones protégées. Merci et bonne promenade !

Avis

Ajouter un avis

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *