The temperature is rising, the sun is blazing… What can you do when it's hot? Here are some suggested activities.

Visit the castle of Villerouge-Termenès

The old stones restore their freshness. It's always good inside Villerouge-Termenès castle. This is an opportunity to visit this Cathar Country site and hear the story of Guilhem Bélibaste, the last “perfect” Cathar.

Before or after the visit, take a seat on the terrace at the foot of the castle with a cold drink or a seasonal plate or have lunch at the table of the Medieval rotisserie, in a wing of the castle.

Here are some other ideas for places to visit to stay safe from the heat: Lagrasse Abbey (public and private part) or the former cooperative cellar of Ferrals-les-Corbières rehabilitated into a street art museum, Spiktri Street Art Universe.

Visit a winery and do a wine tasting

Another option to spend the hottest hours is to visit a winery et do a tasting. It is always cool in the cellars or cellars. It is also an opportunity to find the bottle that will accompany your meal, from fresh and easy-drinking red to white or rosé, very popular for summer evenings to accompany grilled meats and salads.

To extend the visit, some offer activities sheltered from the heat, such asEscape Game du Luc's castle which completes the discovery of barrel cellar, in the basement of the old building.

Escape Game Château de Luc
Escape Room Luc's Castle

Local shops or local as the Clauses Honey Farm or Cyril Codina vinegar factory are also good options for doing some shopping and discovering the local gastronomy during the hot hours.

Swimming in nature

Of course, the bathing remains a safe bet to spend a cool day. The supervised bathing places in the river are completed by the space of the Jouarres lake. You can also find little secret places to read a book in the cool along the river de l 'Orbieu but be careful, if you bathe there, it will be under your own responsibility.

Avril

by April

Reading time 2 min

La température grimpe, le soleil est ardent… Que peut-on faire lorsqu’il fait chaud ? Voici quelques suggestions d’activités.

Visiter le château de Villerouge-Termenès

Les vieilles pierres restituent leur fraicheur. Il fait toujours bon à l’intérieur du château de Villerouge-Termenès. C’est l’occasion de visiter ce site du Pays Cathare et de se laisser conter l’histoire de Guilhem Bélibaste, dernier « parfait » cathare.

Avant ou après la visite, installez-vous en terrasse au pied du château avec une boisson fraîche ou une assiette de saison ou déjeunez à la table de la Rôtisserie médiévale, dans une aile du château.

Voici d’autres idées de sites à visiter pour rester à l’abri des fortes chaleur : l’abbaye de Lagrasse (partie publique et privée) ou l’ancienne cave coopérative de Ferrals-les-Corbières réhabilitée en musée de street art, Spiktri Street Art Universe.

Visiter une cave et faire une dégustation de vin

Une autre option pour passer les heures les plus chaudes est de visiter une cave viticole et faire une dégustation. Il fait toujours frais dans les caveaux ou les chais. C’est aussi l’occasion de dénicher la bouteille qui accompagnera votre repas, du rouge frais et facile à boire au blanc ou au rosé, très apprécié pour les soirées d’été pour accompagner grillades et salades.

Pour prolonger la visite, certains proposent des activités à l’abri de la chaleur, comme par exemple l’Escape Game du Château de Luc qui complète la découverte du chai à barriques, dans les sous-sols de l’ancienne bâtisse.

Escape Game Château de Luc
Escape Game Château de Luc

Les boutiques de terroir ou les producteurs comme la Miellerie des Clauses ou la Vinaigrerie Cyril Codina sont aussi de bonnes options pour faire quelques emplettes et découvrir la gastronomie locale pendant les heures chaudes.

Baignade en pleine nature

Bien sûr, la baignade reste une valeur sûre pour passer une journée au frais. Les lieux de baignade surveillée en rivière sont complétés par l’espace du Lac de Jouarres. Vous pourrez aussi dénicher de petits coins secrets pour bouquiner au frais au bord de la rivière de l’Orbieu mais attention, si vous vous y baignez, se sera sous votre propre responsabilité.

Avril

par Avril

Lecture 2 min