Distance: 12,6 km
Duration (average) : 04h00 (UTC -XNUMX:XNUMX)
Level: Medium
Elevation: 443 D +
1 reviews

Departure: MOUTHOUMET
boucle
Yellow PR
Departure from the Town Hall. A stone stele marks the start, near the imposing road terminal. Go back in time, follow "the peddler" in this village in the Hautes Corbières! The route describes several loops around the village.

Walking

Your itinerary

MOUTHOUMET

IGN map reference (s): IGN 2447 OT

1

Step 1

Via the rue de Ravichol, to the south of the town, a path goes down to the departmental 613. Cross and continue on the small road below, to the right.
2

Step 2

At the level of farm buildings on your right, turn left onto the path. We soon plunge left into the forest with its procession of white, green and box oaks. On the edge of the woods, on a hill, is one of the rare capitals of the canton of Mouthoumet. A short hook brings us back to the motorable path. The plot is characterized by long and narrow strips of land: the Bruges.
3

Step 3

At the track, turn left for the return to Mouthoumet. Via the rue des Ecoles and rue du Moulin à Vent, you reach the road going towards Salza.
4

Step 4

About 750 meters further on, take the path to the right, parallel to the road. We soon join the D82, to leave it at the entrance of a bend to the left.
5

Step 5

Go on the path due north. A few steps further, the path crosses the pastoral estate dotted with ruins, to the northeast of the town. IGN 687 terminal, round trip, a magnificent view is offered on the surrounding summits: Milobres de Bouisse and Massac, Mont Tauch, Nitable Roc and the bluish Pech of Bugarach, the giant of Corbières (1231m). At the center of this massif, the village of Mouthoumet is located in the heart of a large landscaped plateau.
6

Step 6

The path, semi-shaded by oaks and blooming with cistus in spring, soon takes the Bagaza path to the left. A loop on the left allows you to reach an old fortified domain then descends on the way to Bazaga. Go back a bit.
7

Step 7

Take the path on the left downhill along a stream. At the intersection, go right, on the GR36. We then follow the Caulière stream. The tarred path is bordered by clavade walls and dry stone enclosures. The agricultural area with its large pear tree joins the old Laroque de Fa path (the current D613) and the Ste-Anne chapel. In the village, the rue de la Gare, with its lined up houses, ends with the interconnecting doors of the Fort and the church.

Be careful, the fire risk is often high, especially in summer, and can lead to flower bed closures. Find out before you go consulting the fire risk map for outdoor activities.
Fires strictly prohibited.
Do not smoke or throw cigarette ends into the environment. Fires are numerous and catastrophic in our region.
In case of fire or accident: give alert 18 or 112 from a cell phone.
Protect yourself from the sun and take enough water with you.
Avoid picking flowers and plants. Take away all your waste.
Close fences and keep dogs on a leash in pasture areas, villages and protected areas.

Mountain bike routes: the routes are often shared with hikers or other users (cars, tractors, etc.). Be careful and always anticipate that a pedestrian may be present around a bend to have time to brake if necessary. Pedestrians have priority in principle, slow down at crossings or stop if the configuration of the terrain requires you to do so.

Thank you and happy hiking!

Reviews

BEZIAT, Jean-Louis The 21 July 2021
I did this walk on August 25, 2015. The weather was fine which allowed me to appreciate all the points of view. However, I will issue a small caveat. Indeed, the markup should be reviewed, especially at intersections (no precise markup - markup erased - maintenance of the old markup causing directional errors). After point 7 it would be interesting to put, in the second intersection, a sign to offer a choice to the markers, either make the loop, or descend directly to join the GR 36. The fact remains that the area is magnificent .

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Distance : 12,6 km
Durée (moyenne) : 04h00
Niveau : Moyen
Dénivelé : 443 D+
1 avis

Départ : MOUTHOUMET
boucle
Jaune PR
Départ au niveau de la Mairie. Une stèle en pierre matérialise le départ, proche de l'imposante borne routière. Remontez le temps, suivez "le colporteur" dans ce village des hautes Corbières ! L'itinéraire décrit plusieurs boucles autour du village.

À pied

Votre itinéraire

MOUTHOUMET

Référence(s) carte(s) IGN : IGN 2447 OT

1

Étape 1

Par la rue de Ravichol, au sud de la commune, un chemin descend vers la départementale 613. Traverser et poursuivre sur la petite route en contrebas, vers la droite.
2

Étape 2

Au niveau de bâtiments agricoles sur votre droite, obliquer sur le chemin à gauche. On s’enfonce bientôt à gauche dans la forêt avec son cortège de chênes blancs, verts et de buis. En lisière des bois, sur une hauteur, se trouve l’une des rares capitelles du canton de Mouthoumet. Un court crochet nous ramène sur le chemin carrossable. Le parcellaire se caractérise par de longues et étroites bandes de terre : les Bruges.
3

Étape 3

A la piste, à gauche pour le retour à Mouthoumet. Par la rue des Ecoles et celle du Moulin à Vent l’on rejoint la route allant vers Salza.
4

Étape 4

Environ 750 mètres plus loin, obliquer sur le chemin à droite, parallèle à la route. On rejoint bientôt la D82, pour la quitter à l'entrée d'un virage vers la gauche.
5

Étape 5

Filer sur le chemin plein nord. Quelques pas plus loin, le sentier traverse le domaine pastoral jalonné des ruines, au nord-est de la commune. Borne IGN 687, en aller-retour, une vue magnifique s’offre sur les sommets environnants : Milobres de Bouisse et de Massac, Mont Tauch, Nitable Roc et le Pech bleuâtre de Bugarach, le géant des Corbières (1231m). Au centre de ce massif, le village de Mouthoumet est situé au cœur d’un large plateau aménagé.
6

Étape 6

Le sentier semi-ombragé par les chênes et fleuri de cistes au printemps, emprunte bientôt le chemin de Bagaza vers la gauche. Une boucle à gauche permet de rejoindre un ancien domaine fortifié puis redescend sur le chemin de Bazaga. Revenir un peu en arrière.
7

Étape 7

Emprunter à gauche le chemin en descente le long d'un ruisseau. A l'intersection, aller à droite, sur le GR36. On suit alors le ruisseau de Caulière. Le chemin goudronné est bordé de murets en clavade et d'enclos de pierres sèches. L’espace agricole avec son grand poirier rejoint l’ancien chemin de Laroque de Fa (la D613 actuelle) et la chapelle Ste-Anne . Au village, la rue de la Gare, avec ses maisons alignées, se termine par les portes en enfilade du Fort et de l’église.

Attention, le risque incendie est actuellement élevé et peut entrainer des fermetures de massifs. Renseignez-vous avant de partir en consultant la carte du risque incendie pour les activités de pleine nature.
Feux strictement interdits.
Ne fumez pas et ne jetez jamais de mégots dans la nature. Les incendies sont nombreux et catastrophiques dans notre région.
En cas d’incendie ou d’accident : donnez l’alerte 18 ou 112 à partir d’un portable.
Protégez-vous du soleil et emportez de l’eau en quantité suffisante.
Évitez la cueillette des fleurs et des plantes. Emportez tous vos déchets.
Refermez les clôtures et tenez les chiens en laisse dans les espaces de pâturages, les villages et les zones protégées. Merci et bonne promenade !

Avis

BEZIAT, Jean-Louis Le 21 juillet 2021
J'ai effectué cette balade le 25 août 2015. Le temps était au beau ce qui m'a permis d'apprécier tous les points de vue. Cependant j'émettrai un petit bémol. En effet, le balisage est à revoir notamment dans les intersections (pas de balisage précis - balisage effacé - maintien de l'ancien balisage occasionnant des erreurs de direction) . Après le point 7 il serait intéressant de mettre, dans la deuxième intersection, une pancarte pour proposer un choix aux baliseurs, soit faire la boucle, soit descendre directement pour rejoindre le GR 36. Il n'en demeure pas moins que le coin est magnifique.

Ajouter un avis

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *