Distance: 4,2 km
Duration (average) : 02 p.m.
Level: Easy
Elevation: 192 D +
Departure: MONTJOI
boucle
Yellow PR
At the water's edge
The king of birds spreads his silent shadow over the valley to lead you on this Petite Vadrouille, through the Orbieu gorges. Departure from Place de la Fontaine.

Walking

Points of interest

Your itinerary

MONTJOI

IGN map reference (s): IGN 2447 West

1

Step 1

Cairn (1) Montjoi comes from the Latin “Moses Jouis“, the Mountain of Jupiter. Behind the fountain at the bend of a rock, the trail begins. On your right, the remains of a castle, founded in the 2th and 3th centuries, raise its ruins towards the sky. The current village is crowded around the old keep. Cairn (4) We discover on the trail a wide variety of rock plants: rock fern, high stonecrop, common polypod. Cairn (5) The bridge, known as the “Roman Bridge”, built in the 6th century, opened the road to Salza by a path buried under the undergrowth. Cairn (7) The walk continues along a path paved with coarse stones. At the edge of the water, the trees which are always thirsty (alders, poplars, willows, dogwoods) and on the slopes, the Mediterranean vegetation (broom, pistachio trees). Cairn (8) Arbutus and other fruit trees line the path. Cairn (9) and (10) The Orbieu river is inhabited by fish but also dragonflies. Cairn (11) The plants of the garrigue exhale their scents: thyme, lavender, elderberry, mint. Cairn (12) The fording is done in the shade of chestnut, hazelnut and cherry trees. Cairn (XNUMX) The old abandoned village of Montjoi. An old church from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth century, tombstones and a few houses are still visible. Cairn (XNUMX) Above the open ground, the eagle spots its prey. Cairn (XNUMX) The old terraced cultures, surrounded by dry stone walls, spread out on the side of the hill and are now colonized by the population. Here, wheat and alfalfa were watered by a canal.

Be careful, the fire risk is often high, especially in summer, and can lead to flower bed closures. Find out before you go consulting the fire risk map for outdoor activities.
Fires strictly prohibited. Do not smoke and never throw cigarette butts in nature. Fires are numerous and catastrophic in our region. In the event of a fire or accident: give alert 18 or 112 from a cell phone.
Protect yourself from the sun and take enough water with you.
Avoid picking flowers and plants. Take all your trash. Close fences and keep dogs on a leash in pasture areas, villages and protected areas.

Mountain bike routes: the routes are often shared with hikers or other users (cars, tractors, etc.). Be careful and always anticipate that a pedestrian may be present around a bend to have time to brake if necessary. Pedestrians have priority in principle, slow down at crossings or stop if the configuration of the terrain requires you to do so.
Thank you and happy hiking!

Reviews

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Distance : 4,5 km
Durée (moyenne) : 02h30
Niveau : Facile
Dénivelé : 259 D+
Départ : MONTJOI
boucle
Jaune PR
Le roi des oiseaux déploie son ombre silencieuse sur la vallée pour vous conduire sur cette Petite Vadrouille odorante.

À pied

Votre itinéraire

MONTJOI

Référence(s) carte(s) IGN : IGN 2447 Ouest

1

Étape 1

Cairn (1) Montjoi vient du Latin “Moses Jouis“, la Montagne de Jupiter. Derrière la fontaine au détour d'un rocher, commence le sentier. Sur votre droite, les vestiges d'un château, fondé au XIIème et XIIIème siècle, dresse ses ruines vers le ciel. Le village actuel se presse autour du vieux donjon. Cairn (2) On découvre sur le sentier une grande variété de plantes rupestres : fougère rupestre, orpin élévé, polypode commun. Cairn (3) Le pont, dit “Pont Romain”construit au XIIème siècle, ouvrait la route vers Salza par un chemin enfoui sous les broussailles. Cairn (4) La promenade se poursuit par un sentier dallé de pierres grossières. Au bord de l’eau, les arbres qui ont toujours soif (aulnes, peupliers, saules, cornouillers) et sur les pentes, la végétation méditerranéenne (genêts, pistachiers). Cairn (5) Des arbousiers et autres fruitiers longent le sentier. Cairn (6) et (7) La rivière Orbieu est habitée par des poissons mais aussi des libellules . Cairn (8) Les plantes de la garrigue exhalent leurs parfums : thym, lavande, sureau, menthe. Cairn (9) Le passage à gué se fait à l’ombre des châtaigniers, noisetiers, cerisiers. Cairn (10) Le vieux village abandonné de Montjoi. Une ancienne église du Xème et Xième siècle, des pierres tombales et quelques maisons sont encore visibles. Cairn (11) Au dessus des terrains découverts, l’aigle repère ses proies. Cairn (12) Les anciennes cultures en terrasses, entourées de murs en pierres sèches s’étagent au flanc de la colline et sont aujourd’hui colonisées par la population. Ici, le blé et la luzerne étaient arrosés par un canal.

Attention, le risque incendie est souvent élevé, en particulier l’été, et peut entrainer des fermetures de massifs. Renseignez-vous avant de partir en consultant la carte du risque incendie pour les activités de pleine nature.
Feux strictement interdits.
Ne fumez pas et ne jetez jamais de mégots dans la nature. Les incendies sont nombreux et catastrophiques dans notre région.
En cas d’incendie ou d’accident : donnez l’alerte 18 ou 112 à partir d’un portable.
Protégez-vous du soleil et emportez de l’eau en quantité suffisante.
Évitez la cueillette des fleurs et des plantes. Emportez tous vos déchets.
Refermez les clôtures et tenez les chiens en laisse dans les espaces de pâturages, les villages et les zones protégées.

Parcours VTT : les itinéraires sont souvent partagés avec les randonneurs ou d’autres usagers (voitures, tracteurs etc.). Soyez prudents et anticipez toujours qu’un piéton peut être présent au détour d’un virage pour avoir le temps de freiner si nécessaire. Les piétons sont par principe prioritaires, ralentissez lors des croisements ou arrêtez-vous si la configuration du terrain vous y oblige.

Merci et bonne randonnée !

Avis

Ajouter un avis

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *