In the Corbières, the Mouthoumet massif conceals many mining and metallurgical vestiges, traces of a bygone industrial past. Discover this little-known heritage on a circuit offered by the Mines en Corbières association, to be carried out by car or by bike for cyclists adept.

The exploitation of mines spread fromAntiquity to the second half of the XNUMXth century. The metals mainly concerned are iron, silver, copper, lead or antimony, not to mention barium in the form of barite. The processing of the ores was sometimes done on site, leaving remains still clearly visible today.

To know :

The circuit presented here is about 72 km from the village of Cascastel-Des-Corbières (reference point for the distances indicated, possibility of shortening the route by continuing towards Palairac at the Col de Ferréol). It can be done by car or by bike, these small roads in the Hautes Corbières are ideal for the practice of sports cycle tourism (drop 1020 meters). For an eco-friendly outing, this is the perfect opportunity to test the rental of the Villerouge-Termenès electric car!

carte du circuit

Cascastel-des-Corbières and its castle

Meet at the Place du Cascastel Castle (point n ° 1). The recently renovated 1726th century facade houses a sumptuous "plaster room" which served as a living room for Lord Joseph-Gaspard Pailhoux de Cascastel (1808-1872). You will find this character several times, who has become a mining operator, during your journey. To the left of the base of the tower, through an opening with a grid, you will discover a construction in fine local sandstone equipment that can be attributed to Rémy Jacomy, master of forges and owner of the castle (1882-XNUMX).

It is possible to visit the gypsum room du château by appointment, by contacting the Friends of the Château de Cascastel association. More info here.

Leave Cascastel heading towards Albas on the D106.

From Albas to Villerouge-Termenès, the Fourques site

Cross Albas direction Villerouge-Termenès by the D40: you go up towards the mining territory. At km 6,2, park on the left side (point n ° 2). Towards the south, the wooded reliefs constitute the first slopes of the Lacamp plateau. This plateau, established on ancient land from the Primary era, has many many iron mines. On the left and behind your back, the sparsely wooded land with colored and straightened strata, are more recent (Secondary and Tertiary)… and without mines. Continue on your way to Villerouge-Termenès.

Still on the D40, starting from the old Saint Rome farm (barn, point n ° 3), you can discover the 2.5 km thematic trail passing through the old fortified building of Fourques. You are here in the Sensitive Natural Space of Saint-Rome-Fenouillères, owned by the Department of Aude. Dating from the XNUMXth century, it is probably a fortified storage room. At the rear of the building, on the slope, under the limestone tuff rocks, stretches a ferrier dating from the XNUMXth to the XNUMXth centuries. Ferriers are piles of slag (waste) from the processing of iron ore.

Fourques
The Fourques site

Villerouge-Termenès and the coat of arms of Dagobert

When you arrive in Villerouge-Termenès, park in the car park in front of the old cooperative cellar (km 15). Walk down to the entrance to the castle.

descent to the castle of villerouge-termenès

About twenty meters before this, take a small lane to the right towards the "Placette". You will discover a house adorned with a coat of arms (point n ° 4). It's that of Luc Simeon Auguste Dagobert de Fontenille. Hero of the Revolution, this Brigadier General was Pailhoux de Cascastel's partner for the exploitation of the Corbières iron mines. Military above all, he housed his Intendant des Mines in this building built in 1780.

Félines-Termenès station and cable car

Take the road to Félines-Termenès via the D613. After crossing the village, at km 17,8, you will notice a large esplanade on the left (point n ° 5). This is the old railway station where were stationed before the war (39-45) two locomotives dedicated to transporting ore. The large stone building, to the right of the small tower (water reserve for the steam train), was the cable car terminal who delivered the iron-ore from the Monthaut mine (5 km away, in the town of Palairac).

Mining sites scattered throughout the Hautes Corbières

On leaving the village, turn left towards Palairac / Tuchan (D39). Leave Davejean on the right and continue towards Palairac / Tuchan. At km 21,2, just after a small bridge, park on the right side of the road (point n ° 6). You are in the middle of a important ironmonger, vestige of an iron and steel workshop from Roman times. There is slag everywhere, especially in the ditch by the roadside.

scories
slag (waste from iron ore processing)

Continue until after the Couize pass (km 23,9, point n ° 7). In good weather, an impressive panorama offers a breathtaking view over this part of the Corbières up to the Pyrenees chain. We distinguish the Quéribus castles et Peyrepertuse. Under your feet is the main silver mine in Corbières, often cited in texts in the Middle Ages.

Paysages des Hautes Corbières
landscapes of the high corbières

Below, you can see an old electrical post. It is the only vestige of a small antimony ore processing plant built in 1938. Continue for 1,2 km and take the herringbone path to the right (watch out for the maneuver). Park 100 m away, after the hairpin bend, in front of the fire hydrant (point 8). You are on the old one Bousole mining site (antimony) where the remains have practically disappeared. From 1838 to 1842, the ore was intensively extracted which was sent to Carcassonne on the backs of mules for processing (separation of antimony and lead). At Ferréol pass turn right towards Maisons (D123). In Maisons, continue towards Padern. Park at the Maisons-Padern-Montgaillard crossroads (km 30,8, point n ° 9). Look south at the hill in the background, you will see the Saint Estève site : it is a mine exploited in the XNUMXth century for the barite, but for the copper et money in older times.

Mine de St Estève
mine of st estève

Go down towards Padern until km 32,6 (point n ° 10). On your left the old forges of Montgaillard (private site), built in the 35,5th century for the processing of iron ore. Continue in the Torgan gorges until km 11 (point n ° XNUMX); park on the widening on the right. The valley which extends it had a barite enrichment plant that was extracted a little higher up. This is the Tistoulet mine which closed its doors in 1932. Here too, the activity began in Antiquity for the extraction of copper and lead.

The Catalan Forge of Padern and the hamlet of Ségure

Pass through the village of Padern on your way to Tuchan. Under the courtyard of the school (Town Hall), there is a plaster cast (late 12th century) which shows a section of the Tistoulet Mine (point n ° XNUMX). Continue towards Tuchan. In the Verdouble gorges, at km 42, park on the widening on the right (point n ° 13). Below you will see buildings: these are the remains of the Catalan forge built by Pailhoux de Cascatel in 1779. In this forge were manufactured cannon balls for the Spanish Civil War (1794) led by General Dagobert.

Cross Tuchan and take the direction of Palairac (D39). At hamlet of Ségure (km 52, point n ° 14), you will find on the left the "Theater of Ségure". This is an old forge (blacksmith) which dates from the exploitation of the coal mines of the same place. The next building, by the side of the road, was the miners' accommodation (private). In the XNUMXth century, the coal of Ségure would have been used for firing bricks for the fortifications of Vauban in the Eastern Pyrenees.

Palairac and the Lacamp plateau

Take the road back to Palairac. In the village, do not hesitate to visit Saint Saturnin's church (point n ° 15): a village legend reports that, following his visit to the La Canal silver mine, Louis XIV would have offered the baroque furniture of the church...

The village is also the starting point of the hiking loop The Forgotten Iron of the Lacamp Plateau. Dotted with thematic panels, it allows you to learn more about the mining past of this sector of the Hautes Corbières.

Go back to Quintillan (D123). You walk along the Lacamp plateau and its iron mines to the northwest, but that's not all!

Before Quintillan, at km 65 (point n ° 16), you can see, to the left, above the first vineyard and to the right of a path, the gray dumps (operating cuttings poor in ore) of the Feugerolles antimony mine, operated by the Pailhoux family and which was the site of a dramatic accident in 1809.

Mine de Feugerolles
Feugerolles mine (above the vineyard, to the right of the path)

Continue until you find the starting point at Cascastel-Des-Corbieres.

Warning: do not leave the indicated circuit and do not go to these sites without being accompanied.

For any information, contact Mines en Corbières: contact_mail@minesencorbieres.org

Livre Mines des Corbières

To know everything about this little-known past, we recommend the book Corbières Mines.

On the road

where to eat?

Next
Next

Restaurant

Tuesday 28!

Next

Restaurant

The Termenes

Next

Bar Restaurant

La P'tite Ardoise

Next

Bar Restaurant

The View Of The Vines

Next

Caterer Reception organizer

The flavors of Tauch

Next

Bar Restaurant

The Globe Kfé

Céline

by Céline

Litterature 9 min

Dans les Corbières, le massif de Mouthoumet recèle de nombreux vestiges miniers et métallurgiques, traces d’un passé industriel révolu. Partez à la découverte de ce patrimoine méconnu dans un circuit proposé par l’association Mines en Corbières, à réaliser en voiture ou à vélo pour les adaptes de cyclotourisme.

L’exploitation des mines s’est étendue de l’Antiquité à la seconde moitié du XXe siècle. Les métaux principalement concernés sont le fer, l’argent, le cuivre, le plomb ou l’antimoine, sans oublier le baryum sous forme de barytine. Le traitement des minerais se faisait parfois sur place, laissant des vestiges encore bien visibles aujourd’hui.

A savoir :

Le circuit présenté ici fait environ 72 km depuis le village de Cascastel-Des-Corbières (point de référence pour les kilométrages indiqués, possibilité de raccourcir l’itinéraire en continuant vers Palairac au niveau du col de Ferréol). Il peut être réalisé en voiture ou bien à vélo, ces petites routes des Hautes Corbières se prêtant idéalement à la pratique du cyclotourisme sportif (dénivelé 1020 mètres). Pour une sortie eco-friendly, c’est l’occasion parfaite pour tester la location de la voiture électrique de Villerouge-Termenès !

carte du circuit

Cascastel-des-Corbières et son château

Rendez-vous sur la place du Château de Cascastel (point n°1). La façade du XVIIIe récemment rénovée abrite une somptueuse « salle des gypseries » qui servait de salon au seigneur Joseph-Gaspard Pailhoux de Cascastel (1726-1808). Vous retrouverez à plusieurs reprises ce personnage, devenu exploitant minier, au cours de votre périple. A gauche de la base de la tour, par une ouverture munie d’une grille, vous découvrirez une construction en bel appareillage de grès local pouvant être attribuée à Rémy Jacomy, maître de forges et propriétaire du château (1872-1882).

Il est possible de visiter la salle des gypses du château sur RDV, en contactant l’association des Amis du Château de Cascastel. Plus d’infos ici.

Quittez Cascastel en vous dirigeant vers Albas par la D106.

D’Albas à Villerouge-Termenès, le site de Fourques

Traversez Albas direction Villerouge-Termenès par la D40 : vous montez vers le territoire minier. Au km 6,2, garez-vous sur le côté gauche (point n°2). Vers le Sud, les reliefs boisés constituent les premières pentes du plateau de Lacamp. Ce plateau, établi sur des terrains anciens de l’ère Primaire, comporte de nombreuses mines de fer. Sur la gauche et dans votre dos, les terrains peu boisés et aux strates colorées et redressées, sont plus récents (Secondaire et Tertiaire)… et sans mines. Poursuivez votre chemin vers Villerouge-Termenès.

Toujours sur la D40, au départ de l’ancienne métairie Saint Rome (grange, point n°3), vous pourrez découvrir le sentier thématique de 2.5 km passant par l’ancien bâtiment fortifié de Fourques. Vous êtes ici dans l’Espace Naturel Sensible Saint-Rome-Fenouillères, propriété du Département de l’Aude. Datant du XIIIe siècle, il s’agit probablement un local fortifié de stockage. A l’arrière du bâtiment, dans la pente, sous les rochers de tuf calcaire, s’étend un ferrier daté des VIe au IXe siècles. Les ferriers sont des amoncellements de scories (déchets) issues du traitement du minerai de fer.

Fourques
Le site de fourques

Villerouge-Termenès et le blason de Dagobert

Arrivés à Villerouge-Termenès, garez-vous sur le parking en face de l’ancienne cave coopérative (km 15). Descendez à pied vers l’entrée du château.

descente vers le château de villerouge-termenès

Une vingtaine de mètres avant celle-ci, empruntez une petite ruelle à droite vers la « Placette ». Vous y découvrirez une maison ornée d’un blason (point n°4). C’est celui de Luc Siméon Auguste Dagobert de Fontenille. Héros de la Révolution, ce général de Brigade était l’associé de Pailhoux de Cascastel pour l’exploitation des mines de fer des Corbières. Militaire avant tout, il logeait son Intendant des Mines dans cette bâtisse construite en 1780.

La gare et le téléphérique de Félines-Termenès

Reprenez la route vers Félines-Termenès par la D613. Après la traversée du village, au km 17,8, vous remarquerez sur la gauche une grande esplanade (point n°5). C’est l’ancienne gare ferroviaire où stationnaient avant-guerre (39-45) deux locomotives dédiées au transport du minerai. Le grand bâtiment en pierre, à droite de la petite tour (réserve d’eau pour le train à vapeur), constituait le terminal du téléphérique qui acheminait le minerai de fer depuis la mine du Monthaut (à 5 km, sur la commune Palairac).

Des sites miniers disséminés dans les Hautes Corbières

A la sortie du village, prendre à gauche vers Palairac / Tuchan (D39). Laisser Davejean à droite et poursuivre vers Palairac/Tuchan. Au km 21,2, juste après un petit pont, stationnez sur le bord droit de la route (point n°6). Vous êtes au milieu d’un important ferrier, vestige d’un atelier sidérurgique de l’époque romaine. Il y a des scories partout, notamment dans le fossé en bordure de la route.

scories
scories (déchets issus du traitement du minerai de fer)

Poursuivre jusqu’après le col de Couize (km 23,9, point n°7). Par beau temps, un panorama impressionnant offre une vue imprenable sur cette partie des Corbières jusqu’à la chaîne des Pyrénées. On y distingue les châteaux de Quéribus et Peyrepertuse. Sous vos pieds, se trouve la principale mine d’argent des Corbières, souvent citée dans les textes au Moyen-âge.

Paysages des Hautes Corbières
paysages des hautes corbières

En contrebas, vous apercevez un ancien poste électrique. C’est le seul vestige d’une petite usine de traitement du minerai d’antimoine construite en 1938. Continuez sur 1,2 km et empruntez le chemin à droite en épi (attention à la manœuvre). Garez-vous à 100 m, après le virage en épingle, en face de la borne incendie (point n°8). Vous êtes sur l’ancien site minier de la Bousole (antimoine) où les vestiges ont pratiquement disparu. De 1838 à 1842, on a intensément extrait le minerai qui était envoyé à Carcassonne à dos de mulets pour traitement (séparation antimoine et plomb). Au col de Ferréol tournez à droite vers Maisons (D123). A Maisons, poursuivez vers Padern. Garez-vous au carrefour Maisons-Padern-Montgaillard (km 30,8, point n°9). Regardez au sud la colline en second plan, vous y verrez le site de Saint Estève : c’est une mine exploitée au XXe siècle pour la barytine, mais pour le cuivre et l’argent dans les temps plus anciens.

Mine de St Estève
mine de st estève

Descendez vers Padern jusqu’au km 32,6 (point n°10). Sur votre gauche les anciennes forges de Montgaillard (site privé), construites au XVIIIe siècle pour le traitement du minerai de fer. Poursuivre dans les gorges du Torgan jusqu’au km 35,5 (point n°11) ; garez-vous sur l’élargissement à droite. Le vallon qui le prolonge possédait une usine d’enrichissement de la barytine qu’on extrayait un peu plus haut. C’est la mine de Tistoulet qui a fermé ses portes en 1932. Là aussi, l’activité a commencé dès l’Antiquité pour l’extraction du cuivre et du plomb.

La Forge à la catalane de Padern et le hameau de Ségure

Passez dans le village de Padern en vous dirigeant vers Tuchan. Sous le préau de l’école (Mairie), se trouve un moulage en plâtre (fin XIXe) qui montre une coupe de la Mine de Tistoulet (point n°12). Continuez vers Tuchan. Dans les gorges du Verdouble, au km 42, garez-vous sur l’élargissement à droite (point n°13). En contrebas vous apercevrez des bâtiments : ce sont les vestiges de la forge à la catalane construite par Pailhoux de Cascatel en 1779. Dans cette forge ont été fabriqués des boulets de canon pour la guerre d’Espagne (1794) menée par le Général Dagobert.

Traversez Tuchan et prenez la direction de Palairac (D39). Au hameau de Ségure (km 52, point n°14), vous découvrirez sur la gauche le « théâtre de Ségure ». C’est une ancienne forge (de maréchal ferrant) qui date de l’exploitation des mines de houille du même lieu. Le bâtiment suivant, en bordure de la route, était le logement des mineurs (privé). Au XVIIe siècle la houille de Ségure aurait servi à la cuisson des briques pour les fortifications de Vauban dans les Pyrénées Orientales.

Palairac et le plateau de Lacamp

Reprenez la route vers Palairac. Dans le village, n’hésitez pas à visiter l’église Saint Saturnin (point n°15) : une légende villageoise rapporte que, suite à sa visite de la mine d’argent de La Canal, Louis XIV aurait offert le mobilier baroque de l’église

Le village est aussi le point de départ de la boucle de randonnée pédestre Le Fer oublié du Plateau de Lacamp. Jalonnée de panneaux thématique, elle permet d’en savoir plus sur le passé minier de ce secteur des Hautes Corbières.

Repartez vers Quintillan (D123). Vous longez au Nord-Ouest le plateau de Lacamp et ses mines de fer mais pas seulement !

Avant Quintillan, au km 65 (point n°16), vous pouvez apercevoir, à gauche, au-dessus de la première vigne et à droite d’un chemin, les haldes grises (déblais d’exploitation pauvres en minerai) de la mine d’antimoine de Feugerolles, exploitée par la famille Pailhoux et qui a été le siège d’un accident dramatique en 1809.

Mine de Feugerolles
mine de feugerolles (au dessus de la vigne, à droite du chemin)

Continuez jusqu’à retrouver le point de départ à Cascastel-Des-Corbières.

Attention : ne quittez pas le circuit indiqué et ne vous rendez pas sur ces sites sans y être accompagnés.

Pour tout renseignement, contactez Mines en Corbières : contact_mail@minesencorbieres.org

Livre Mines des Corbières

Pour tout savoir sur ce passé méconnu, nous recommandons l’ouvrage Mines des Corbières.

Sur la route

où se restaurer ?

Suivant
Suivant

Restaurant

Le 28 Pardi !

Suivant

Restaurant

Le Termenes

Suivant

Bar-restaurant

La Vue Sur Les Vignes

Suivant

Traiteur Organisateur de réception

Les Saveurs De Tauch

Suivant

Bar-restaurant

Le Globe

Suivant

Bar-restaurant

La Peirière

Céline

par Céline

Lecture 9 min