The construction of the Canal du Midi, by Pierre Paul Riquet, in the XNUMXth century, under Louis XIV, constituted for Roubia a commercial development, the port of Roubia being moreover one of the river ports of significant importance for the region of Upper Minervois.
The Canal is the property of Riquet's heirs until the Revolution. In 1858, the canal became state property.
The Argens-le Somail stage, 14.8 km long, required 8 relays and 24 horses. Each relay station was placed under the authority of a stable manager. The postilions were recruited among agricultural workers. The local craft industry provided all the equipment necessary for hauling, ropes, horse harnesses, shoeing.
Heritage interpretation panels have been installed in the village. Also follow the marked trail Les Trois Bosquets to discover the surroundings as well as dry stone heritage elements (bee walls).
Ribejant lo canal de Riquet, Robian and sos ostals bèls del sègle 19 pòrtan testimòni del benaise passat de la viticultura. Aqueste vilatge pasible sèrva a ric patrimòni: its glèisa romanica and its cloquièr restaurat, the font of Anhès vièlha de mai of 200 years, its port and the abeurador sul Canal.
Robian contunha la tradicion miègterranenca amb lo devolopament de l'oleicultura. The construction of the Canal del Miègjorn by Pèire-Paul Riquet in the 17th century launched the commercial development of the village. Atal, the port of Robian is one of the river ports of great importance for the Menerbés-naut region.
Lo Canal is the property of the owners of Riquet due to the Revolution. In 1858, the canal sold to proprietat de l'Estat.
The Argens-Somalh stage, with a length of 14,8 km, required 8 relays and 24 horsemen.
• Name: Robin. Del Gallo-Roman name Rubius + suffix -anm.
• Estatjants: los robianòts
• Say: - To Robian, manjaràs coma un ramiau.